Day 34: 5 Minute Freewrite - Prompt: Big Wave

in #freewrite7 years ago

Imgur

Please welcome our newest freewriters @skysnap and @ainie.kashif

Mant thanks to @preparedwombat for the donation toward the freewriters reward pool!!

Many of our freewriters are new to the platform and get very few votes on their posts. Every day, I am inviting you to visit one and leave some comments and votes. Today, please visit @felt.buzz

Prompt: Big Wave

  • Set your timer for 5 minutes
  • Start writing
  • Use the hashtag #freewrite
  • Publish your piece (include a link to this post if you wish)

Copy and paste your URL into the comment section of the prompt post.

  • Or, if you don't want to publish your freewrite, just copy and paste as a comment under the prompt post.

If you don't know what a freewrite is, here is a link to the introduction post.

And I have more good news!! I won the SteemUSA competition and have another delegation!! Between the one @Wandrnrose7 got for me and this one, I will be able to give you all a vote every time you post a freewrite!!! I am so happy about that. We got one month of happy voting!!

If you are in the US or from the US originally, check out @steemusa

If you like this and want more people to come out and play - resteem!

Remember to check your voting power. Do not vote for a while if you are under 90!
https://www.steemnow.com/

Contests you can enter

You have one more day to write an essay for @sayee writing contest. Click here for details

And @chrisroberts is running a poetry contest. I know that some of you are up for that!! click here

Writing help

Our fellow freewriter @arbitrarykitten has a business here on Steemit. Several editors are offering to edit and format your post for a small fee. Check out their intro post

And a free app: Grammarly. A lot of us are not native English speakers and I am finding it a helpful app. It will underline spelling and grammar mistakes. Just remember that is is not always right -especially if you use complex sentence structures. Here is the link

Finally, remember The Most Dangerous Writing App. You set the time - 5 min - and start typing. Don’t stop!!! It will destroy what you wrote if you stop for more than 3 seconds - and backspace does not count as writing on the app. If you are prone to stop and think - this app forces you to keep going. You can make corrections after the 5 minutes are over.

Also, I would love it if you all check out each others #freewrite and spread some love :)
@ackhoo @ahmadmanga @ana-maria @arbitrarykitten @alvinauh @alxgraham
@bashadow @bloghound @brisby @byn
@chuazm @citizenzero @creationofcare
@deaconlee @deemarshall @dennisauburn @dmcamera
@ecoinstant @elizacheng @ellievallie
@f3nix @fitinfun @felt.buzz @fishyculture
@gniksivart
@improv @iyanpol12
@janine-ariane @jayna @jewels3 @jie28 @jjwriter85 @jkiw @johnwjr7
@littlenewthings @littlescribe
@long888
@marcoriccardi @marillaanne @melinda010100 @miniature-tiger @mydivathings @maverickinvictus
@nathanthewise
@omra-sky
@preparedwombat
@rainbowme @raj808
@shanibeer @sharoonyasir @simgirl @snook @stinawog @sayee
@tezmel @themerrylotus @theprettysoul @thereikiforest @topkpop @tpkidkai
@valorforfreedom
@wandrnrose7 @whatilearned @whatisnew @wildwoman
@yomibolo

Imgur

All images are my own unless otherwise cited.

Imgur

My recent posts

Cactus - Guava - Grapes

Weekend Freewrite 3

SteemUSA Potential

Joel Salatin - Interview and Blog Post

Day 27 - Prompt

Silver-Freewrite prompt: Bubbling

Freewrite Prompt: a shoe

Weekend Freewrite 2 - Donald

prompt compilation

MAP Forum Introduction

A Good Day to Go to the Market - It's Market Friday

Imgur

Imgur

Imgur

Listen to the Sustainable Living Podcast here

Sort:  

Before I write, I wanted to preface this with the fact that this is a true story. This is 5 minutes worth of my experience when I was back on land in the US visiting my 'land kids' while my husband, younger son and youngest daughter were on the ocean on our sailboat. They were sailing from Turks & Caicos to the Dominican Republic and got caught in a storm. We communicated by way of their satellite phone that was able to send me messages that I got on my laptop, as well as a locator that showed me on a map where they were and how far they traveled. It updated about every 5-15 minutes I think. I had been following them for a week or so, since they had left Georgetown, Bahamas on their way to Puerto Rico.

This is my recollection of the experience, very close to one year ago.

https://steemit.com/adventure/@byn/living-the-storm-my-side-of-the-story-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-big-wave

Awesome story @byn, I hope that you and your family are not still traumatized from that event! 🙂

Here's my entry, a short one but headhache and using the app toke their tolls :P

Great job on this!

Thank you for the mention! I always try to visit as many people on the list. So enjoying this... anyhoo, here is today's entry (8 days in a row I think!) https://steemit.com/freewrite/@felt.buzz/can-you-sea-me-i-can-t-be-shore-5-minute-freewrite-challenge-big-wave

Thanks my dear https://steemit.com/freewrite/@sayee/the-big-wave-and-the-white-foam
Congrats for winning the competition

Thank you!! It really helps to be able to give everyone at least a vote - and one which is a bit more than just 0.001 :)

here is mine for today: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@snook/day-34-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-big-wave

It looks like I'm running out of words.........

I hope you didn't mind me jumping in with my 2¢ worth! 😎

By the way, your son @ecoinstant is a good one, congrats on that and I'm glad he talked you into joining Steemit!

Thank you for the comment about @ecoinstant. I very proud of him myself :D as for your ending, I loved it! I would have loved to hear more :D loll

and Thank YOU for the beautiful comment. You made my day!

Good morning from the PH. Just waking up. Let see if I can come up with something today. Welcome to our new members. One love!

Thanks @bloghound, glad to be part of this great community. I am trying my best to post everyday :), will visit your page soon. One Love! Take Care :)

It's midnight here. I would be posting my entry tomorrow morning. ☺

got up late today.... Any time is a good time :)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @mariannewest to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Here's my entry : https://steemit.com/freewrite/@skysnap/free-write-2-prompt-big-wave

Second entry and so far getting out of my block. :)

Thank you luv!

Muah! <3

Congratulations @mariannewest for winning the SteemUSA contest! You sure did deserve to win and I am so happy for you!

Here is mine: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@whatisnew/day-34-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-big-wave

Thank you so much!! It feels really good that I can give a vote to everyone now!! And you know how grateful I am to you for all the community building you are doing here. Hugs (((whatisnew)))

And we appreciate your upvotes! Hugs back at ya (((((@mariannewest)))))

Here is my entry for the day;

A wave of confusion

Hi... it's my first time to write for #freewrite... @whatisnew introduced me to this initiative... Here's my freewrite entry for today... ^^ --> https://steemit.com/freewrite/@tegoshei/day-34-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-big-wave-wp201

Hey hun! Todays freewrite took me somewhere totally different than I would have imagined... lol, but it's all good :) https://steemit.com/steemit/@arbitrarykitten/steemit-we-ve-got-word-to-do

Thanks for joining in @skysnap and @ainie.kashif!
Thank you , Marianne, for all of the time and effort that you've been putting into this group! Happy Thanksgiving!
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@brisby/wave-of-gratitude-freewrite

You are welcome and happy thanksgiving to you!

Thanks @mariannewest, I am happy now that I was officially declared a freewriter and part of this awesome community :) Lol, I feel so nice. Thanks everyone for the support. Congrats also on your winning the SteemUSA competition, you deserve it, you are a champion in Steemit Community Building Effort. Take Care and see you around! :) Resteemed and upvoted.