#DailyFreeWriteChallenge Day 118: Lace

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

I usually have an idea for what I'm going to write about but today I have no clue. Shoelaces are what first come to mind. It took me a long time to learn how to tie my shoes. Longer than most. So, to fix this problem, we bought velcro shoes. That way I wouldn't be embarassed by being unable to tie my shoes and I got ready much quciker in the morning.

Playing soccer growing up it was always a pain putting on my shoes. They were always too tight and the socks would bunch up. The laces.

What else is lace?

lace.jpg

Photo by Llum Isart on Unsplash

Im drawing blanks. I'm not but I dont know the right wording to put it in. Lace. Sexy. Ugh. I don't like this prompt but im going to keep on typing away until the timer runs out. This is some stream of conciousness right now. I like telling stories. I don't have any stories associated with this word. I'm really drawing a blank right now. It's hard to do this when you don't know what to write about. It's challenging. I'm just filling the time by typing my thoughts into words via this keyboard. I can't even stop to think because of this app. La di da di da. Counting down the seconds but not really. I like to be still. I like to listen. To other people. To what's going on around me. To birds. I sit back and listen to myself think. I'm always thinking. Replaying scenarios in my head and scripting future conversations that won't go as planned. i almost lost it there. seriously i was going to write something but didnt. sometimes i'm afraid to write. Scared of what I might say. I'm drawing a blank again. I dont know what I'm doing half the time. all of the time. I'm just trying to figure it out, ya know? Aren't we all at the end of the day? Just trying to figure it out. I'm not sure what to expect. Today. It's Valentines Day. Im super single.


This post was written via The Most Dangerous Writing App in response to the #dailyfreewritechallenge posted by @mariannewest. Today's (Day 118) prompt is "lace". If you're curious about the #dailyfreewritechallenge, check out the introduction post here

Sort:  

You did it and you freed your mind! That's all it's about! Great job :)

Thanks! Yeah this time was harder than other posts but I'm glad I was able to persevere =)

This right here, the post you did, that is the point of freewrite, to let our thoughts come to paper, no matter what those thoughts are. You did great!
Thank you for sharing this with us 💚

Agreed! Sometimes it's scary to let go and write whatever comes to mind but overall it's a healthy practice! How often do we get to truly express ourselves without a filter?

That was great! Hemingway used to write this way just to get things started. I think it is useful to just type, and then throw it away. But keep this one: it rocks! Here is the latest prompt: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-119-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-fried-chicken

Interesting! I didn't know that but it makes a lot of sense that he'd use a stream of consciousness practice to get him in the right state of mind to begin writing! It definitely gets the creative juices flowing

Hey, I've had days like this too, but you did it! Try to ignore the fear and see what comes out. You can always choose not to post it if the fear was real and you wrote something you don't want others to see!

I love that you seriously just went with the thought flow!

Also, today I am helping the freewriters by delivering today’s prompt: Fried Chicken

@byn

Thanks so much for your comment! I'll keep that in mind next time I'm doing a #freewrite!