#DailyFreeWriteChallenge: Day 130 - wasps

in #freewrite6 years ago

When I was younger my friends and I would play football in the backyard. One day the ball went underneath a chair and I decided to retrieve it. While reaching my hand underneath I felt it. The stinger of a wasp piercing my skin. My arm welted up and burned. I didn't scream but it was painful. I've never been stung by a bee or wasp since, but I've been careful to avoid them at all costs.

While rock climbing in the Black Hills National Forest, a wasp was buzzing around my face. This terrified me because I was 20+ feet in the air. Earlier in the afternoon I walked around our climbing area to find a spot to relieve myself. I did, but in the process of finding a secluded spot I discovered a swarm of yellow jackets. I left immediately but one wasp kept following me around. Incessatly buzzing in my ear. I was certain it was waiting for the right opportunity to sting me. No matter where I went it wouldn't leave me alone. I kept swatting at the air with my hat but to no avail. I asked the people I was with if they had seen a wasp flying around and they all shook their heads "no".

So when this wasp kept buzzing around me while I was suspended in the air I started to think about how shitty it would be to get stung. I thought about how desperately I wanted this insect to leave me alone. I really never liked bugs but camping teaches you how to get used to them. Most animals don't want to bother you, but a lot of them are curious.

wasp.jpg

Photo by Mathew Schwartz on Unsplash


This post was written via The Most Dangerous Writing App in response to the #dailyfreewritechallenge posted by @mariannewest. Today's (Day 130) prompt is "wasps". If you're curious about the #dailyfreewritechallenge, check out the introduction post here!

Sort:  

that wasp was making sure that you would find a different bathroom next time.

Oh that must've been nasty. Good writing though!

Here's the latest prompt: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-131-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-solitude

Following you!

Congratulations @mkkenny13! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @mkkenny13! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Wow this post is listed in trending! Congrats.
Learn how to avoid

crap posting here / https://steewit.com/etiquette/@aggroed/satirically-yours-etiquette-for-young-modern-steemers-shit-posting-101