#DailyFreeWriteChallenge: Day 94 - a kiss

in #freewrite6 years ago

anxiety crawled across my fingertips
sitting on the grass at the edge of the lake
there were stars out that night
i fidgeted the entire time
we were alone
talking
then we stopped
it was quiet
this was the moment
i knew what i needed to do
just lean in and kiss her you fool
she wouldn't be here with you if she felt uncomfortable
a herd of elephants stampeded from my heart to my brain
down to my hands
they were shaking
i deflected by forgetting about a kiss
instead i asked a question
and the talking resumed
the silence dissipated and was replaced by words
the moment was lost
we got up and walked away from the lake
towards the houses
asphalt is far less romantic than mother earth
she's powerful and her energy rises through the dirt with insurmountable power
we walked
until we found somewhere else to sit
and talk
and be silent
the nerves emerged once again
another moment arrived
i broke the silence with another question,
"Can i ask you something?"
"Sure", she replied.
"Can I kiss you? I wanted to earlier but my mind got the best of me."
She giggled and nodded her head.
I smiled and leaned towards her with my fingers guiding the back of her neck.
Time ceased to exist for a brief moment.
Lost in a kiss.
Is there any better place to be?

kiss.jpg

Photo by Filipe Almeida on Unsplash


This post is in response to the #dailyfreewritechallenge posted by @mariannewest & @improv. Today's (Day 94) prompt was "a kiss". If you're curious about the #dailyfreewritechallenge, check out the introduction post here.

Sort:  

I kept saying, "Kiss her! Kiss her!" I I could feel the anxiety. Really nice. Tip!

Very lovely!

Thank you for reading! =)

Hoooowwww do you create so much in just 5 minutes!? I'm happy if I get 200 words out, and I'm not writing poetry of any sort!

I try not to think too much and just let my fingers do all of the work! Some prompts are definitely easier than others. Thanks for reading and commenting =) I think I might submit a story for your Constrained Writing Contest later this week!!!

Well yeah.. I do the same, but it still comes out 200ish. haha :p

Ohhh Awesome! :D Looking forward to it! ;D

The @OriginalWorks bot has checked the text of this post and it appears original!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy. Please note, it only checks the text component!

That’s a sweet story.

Mine was not so intimate.

Thanks for giving us space to drop off our links 💃🏽💃🏽💃🏽

Thanks for reading! I'll be sure to check out your story =)

Very easily relatable as how nerve-wracking it can be to lean in for the kiss!

I think it's something that everybody goes through at some point in their life! Thanks for reading & commenting =)

Good writing on this one , I really liked it ..

Thanks! Be on the lookout for more #freewrites in the future!

Shirley, a kiss is the most beautiful place to be. What a lovely poem!

Thank you so much for reading & commenting! The moments before a (first) kiss are usually nerve-wracking, but afterwards is pure bliss!


I took a crack at today's #freewrite prompt (Day 95 - Glasses) as well! I'd love if you checked it out! Let me know what you think =)

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mkkenny13/dailyfreewritechallenge-day-95-glasses

Heart touching moment! Thank You for sharing!

Thank you for reading and commenting! Feel free to check out the other #freewrite prompts I've done as well =)

I will be sure to check your other work out as well. Have a great day.

no better place!!

Agreed!!! Thanks so much for reading and commenting =) I look forward to these #freewrite prompts every day!

Beautiful prose!

Thank you =)

Hooray for explicit consent!

Nice story, it made me feel young and awkward again. Oh wait, I'm still awkward but it's just that now I'm old too so I no longer have an excuse lol.

A lovely poetic story!

Hi @mkkenny13! You have received 0.1 SBD tip + 0.02 SBD @tipU from @whatisnew :)

Check out new tipuvote! feature :)

Yeah dude, we've all been there - at least once. Always a euphoric anxiety.

Oh this is great! Nice one my friend.

And thanks for visiting my entry too!

That spat of honesty in telling her that your nerves got to you was so damn CUTE!!