#DailyFreeWriteChallenge: Day 98 - Round is a Shape

in #freewrite6 years ago

the wick crackles as the flame dances into oblivion
transforming itself over and over again
the embers torch the pool of wax
dripping down the glass enclosure
round and round we go
chasing the flame
entranced by its explosion
shaped like a woman seducing the darkness

flame.jpg
Photo by Andres F. Uran on Unsplash


This post is in response to the #dailyfreewritechallenge posted by @mariannewest & @improv. Today's (Day 98) prompt is "round is a shape". This was a difficult #freewrite so I strayed a bit from the prompt but there are still elements inside of this piece! If you're curious about the #dailyfreewritechallenge, check out the introduction post here.

Sort:  

If friend something difficult, but not to stop writing I wanted to write another story .. good post

@mkkenny

Sending you Support and Encouragement on your #Freewrite @mariannewest

SMALL ICON-01.png

Subtle the way you included the prompt there ;).

This one was really difficult so I'm glad I was able to incorporate it somehow!

This reads well and flows.

I’m always impressed when poetry comes out of freewrites.

Thank you! Sometimes #freewrites turn into poems, and other times they transform into short stories. I'm never quite sure what direction they'll head in before I start writing which is the beauty of the practice!

I thought I missed the prompt, but I reread and it was there! Very subtle. Nice one.

Thanks for reading! I'm glad you were able to catch it =)

I'm not going to lie to you, this post had me stumped

Haha no worries I feel the same way most of the time anyways. Thanks for reading and commenting!

This is beautiful thanks for reading my post!

You're welcome and thank you for reading mine! =)

Nice Words and realy nice Picture ,!!!!
Keep it on ,!!!!

I like the way the hypnotic feel of the piece corresponds with how you wove the prompt into the words.

Thank you so much for this comment =)

Oooh, firey and flowing! You've me thinking of how the wax drips down, curving and caressing the candle.

Today I'm riding along in a 1954 Bentley R-Type Continental being driven by a very stylish skeleton detective. He's helping me travel through the town of Freewrite to deliver Marianne's prompt to you.

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-99-5-minute-freewrite-friday-prompt-sunset

Thanks for reading and responding! Sorry for my own late response. It's been a hectic two weeks

Super cool how your poem evolved, like the flame itself <3

Yes! It's awesome to take the time to be aware of something as a simple as a flickering flame

That turned out great!!! i think you need to find a poetry contest to submit this!

Thanks! I'll definitely be on the lookout for some contests coming up in the near future!