The Birds That Chirp (A Story About E-safety)

in #freewrite4 years ago

"Can anyone tell me what a chirp is?"

Nearly every student raised their hand. I decided to choose a student at random to answer the question.

"Maya, can you tell me what a chirp is?"

"Yes, Mr. Neil. It means that you have a message on your phone."

It may not have been the answer that I was expecting, but it wasn't wrong. It is 2020. Times have changed.

"Where I come from, there are birds that make sounds, just like a phone."

This is today; a group of 7 year olds. But the alarm bells are about to ring further.

"How many of you use the Internet at home?"

Out of the 30 students, only a handful of them raise their hands

"How many of you go on YouTube?"

Many more hands are raised.

"How many of you play games online?"

Nearly every student has their arm raised.

"How many of you play on the computer unsupervised?"

"How many of you have had someone say something nasty to you online?"

"Would you ever go and meet an online friend?"

I was left shocked and staggered by the results. I am realising that we live in a completely different world to the one I grew up in. We are just leaving our children in a dangerous situation.

We wouldn't send them out at 3 in the morning to buy milk. But they are left to roam around the Internet; much of the content could be written by anyone.

We need to educate them. Not just me. Everyone needs to be involved.

We have to understand this;, birds chirp like a mobile phone. Even if we are to believe it is the other way around.

pe1dek.jpg

Written as a freewrite prompt provided by @mariannewest

Sort:  

I cannot for the life of me believe this is a FREE WRITE. This is amazing. I am now going to look forward to seeing more of your free writes in the future.

Yes, it's a freewrite, based on true experiences. Semi ficticious is probably the best way to describe it.

The last sentence is perfect! It definitely is scary and dangerous times for kids these days. I am so grateful that my kids didn't have computers and phones when they were growing up.

Resident cat here, wishing you a great day. Here is today's new prompt: https://steemit.com/hive-161155/@mariannewest/day-852-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-keeping-it-straight

Win a Membership in Steem Basic Income - Tell us About a Favorite Freewrite.

Thank you so much. It flowed really well, maybe because the story is semi-true