Freewrite Day 197 - The old, loved dog...

in #freewrite6 years ago



Image Source: https://www.gabrielgarbow.wordpress.com

The man was sitting at the vets with his two kids and his companion of many years by his side. The vet nurse came up to them all and sat down next to them.
"He's had some painkiller, so he shouldn't feel too badly for the moment. Lets wait and see what the vet comes and says."
One of the kids hugged the dog. He flinched, but just sat there.
"I have to ask you not to hug him so tightly on that side. It would hurt him a lot."
The boy sat back next to his sister, but the dog turned towards him and nuzzled him.
The Dad told him "maybe just put your arm loosely around him and let him rest against you. Can you do that Aiden? "
The little boy nodded and did as instructed.
The nurse turned to the kids.
So please tell me, who is it that called him 'Flea'? As soon as I heard that name I automatically started looking for them"
The Dad laughed slightly. "I did. Fifteen years ago, when he was a puppy I got him from the guy down the street who was giving dogs away. But this one needed to be fully immunized and treated for fleas: the guy had been neglecting the puppies. When my Dad saw him, he said "You can't keep that thing! He's just a little fleabag!" He was small then so I called him 'Flea'. He turned out to best family pet and friend anyone could ever ask for."
The little girl piped in: "And he is not a fleabag!! He's always kept fully immu, immuninized and clean." She was obviously still upset that her Grandad could say such a thing!
The Vet came to speak to them. They could tell from the look on her face the results weren't good.
"I'm sorry, the spread is extensive and there's little we can do."
The guy looked to his kids, who were crying and carefully giving their family member one last hug. The dog looked up to him; their eyes said all that needed to be said. The time had come...

Sort:  

Come on, did you have to kill the poor dog!? Too sad... :(

Oh @marie-jay i won't say sorry because it's a freewrite and is what it is.. But sweet and nice things can be read in soppy, sad stories. It's all good...

Aauugh! Dog stories almost always have sad endings!!! Pass the tissues!

Come over my place - you can cry on my shoulder xxx

We have been there with a few pets...Not easy.

This was such a sweet and touching story. As soon as you said "fifteen years ago" my Grab a Tissue sensor went off! (I've read enough stories about pets to be wary. 😢) Still had to go and hug my black lab though.