5 Minute Freewrite - music

in #freewrite6 years ago

music.jpgSource

This is my entry to the 5 minute Freewrite Daily Challenge hosted by @mariannewest. You can find her post with the prompt here. It is filled with so many tips and links, you need to read it even if you do not intend taking up the challenge. You will find something there that will add value to your Steemit experience.

Prompt: music

  • Set your timer for 5 minutes
  • Start writing
  • Use the hashtag #freewrite and #freewritepoetry if it turns out to be poetry
  • Publish your piece (include a link to this post if you wish)

I love music but it took me a while to discover that music does not love me. I grew up in a traditional Pentecostal church. We sang a lot! Enthusiasm was encouraged and I belted out every song I knew. When I started school, I thought singing in the choir was just right for me. After all, I was used to people in church looking around to discover who the little boy was who sang with such enthusiasm at the top of his voice. They always smiled and would later compliment me on my enthusiasm. Never about the quality of my voice but that detail escaped me.

Big was my surprise when halfway through my first choir practice the teacher found a rugby ball in a cupboard and offered it to me. She kindly thought I would enjoy playing with the ball more than singing in the choir...
It happened again the next year and the year after that. And when I was nine years old they selected me for the A team. Not as a singer but as a rugby player. My singing talent made me a rugby player.

My time is nearly up but I need to just tell this. When my daughter was three years old I had the car radio on with her in the back seat. I sang along with the music playing on the radio with a lot of my old enthusiasm. It was just my daughter and me in the car. She turned to me and said, 'Stop it Dadda! I'm eating!' We never allowed her to eat in the car, so I knew she was not eating. For the first time in my life, I was grateful for the diplomacy of my first grade teacher at choir practice...

@reonlouw


Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

If I wrote music I would for sure join in on this but good luck with you contest!!

Sing, my friend. Sing with me, loud and enthusiastically, and to heck with rude folks who think singing has to be a certain way. I, also, love singing and have been discouraged from a young age. As for daughters, well, you raised her, so that's on you, lol. But hopefully she will grow to love the extent to which her papa loves singing. I know I love my papa's singing.

Thank you @improv. You made me smile but I'm not quoting you to my daughter even though it is on me...

Maybe we should start our own choir.

We should. I'm sure we're not alone.

You got a 3.45% upvote from @upme thanks to @reonlouw! Send at least 3 SBD or 3 STEEM to get upvote for next round. Delegate STEEM POWER and start earning 100% from your share, daily payouts ( no commission ).
Quick delegation links: 25SP | 50SP | 100SP | 250SP | 500SP | 1000SP | 2000SP | 5000SP | Custom Amount

You have collected your daily Power Ups! Your posts received total upvotes worth of 0.77$.
Learn how to power up smart here!

Some of us really need a Tune Up join the club, better in sports than singing!

LOL that was great <333 :)

That is funny. My dad used to sing like that too :) I can as well, but went to singing school for a long time and can learn a song with lots of work. But I can sing loud and off key better LOL