Pickle Sandwiches: 5-minute freewrite Day 1016 Prompt: Salty Peanut Butter

in #freewrite4 years ago

I prefer salty peanut butter to unsalted peanut butter, as long as it isn't toooo salty. I know the organic peanuts-only variety is supposed to be the healthiest, but it doesn't always work out as an ingredient in recipes that call for peanut butter, like cookies. The recipe inventor is usually expecting the cook to use ordinary store-boughten peanut butter, which usually includes some sort of oil and some salt. It has a different consistency, so it behaves differently in most recipes.

I had a friend in school who said she liked to eat peanut butter and pickle sandwiches. I think I tried it once, but, since I don't really remember, I really ought to try it again. I grew up eating pickle and cheese sandwiches, and thought that was quite normal. Mama usually baked all of our bread, and she bought real cheese, not the individually wrapped almost-cheese slices, and the dill pickles were ones she canned. Those were good sandwiches. I believe mayonnaise was involved, too.

My older sisters remember Mama stored the mayonnaise in the cupboard , not in the fridge. She was usually very conscientious about that sort of thing, so I really wonder why she did that. No wonder I had so many tummy aches when I was a kid.

I also wonder why she bought mayo instead of Miracle Whip. My husband grew up with Miracle Whip in the house, not mayo, so after we got married I tried Miracle Whip and decided I actually like it better. It used to be cheaper than mayo, but I don't think that is true any more.

Sort:  

I learned in department of health certification programs that mayonnaise is too acidic for bacterial growth, so your tummy aches were probably not from that.

Those sandwiches, on home made bread with mother made mayo sound fantastic! Oh!

yeah I'm all about organic and natural, but if I need to make a recipe, I reach for the Skippy peanut butter.

That's an interesting tidbit of info about mayonnaise! I suspect my tummy aches were from stress: I didn't like going to school. I didn't like standing in lines for everything, and eating in the cafeteria surrounded by messy children, and watching other children get in trouble for misbehaving in the classroom. I preferred to be at home.

I loved going to school. I was once a willing conformer. Not anymore!!!

Stress can sure make someone sick. I'm sorry school was so hard for you. Just imagine what any children going to school this fall will be experiencing. Now that we've made them ALL scared to death of each others breath, bodies, and stuff, and they'll have to act like prisoners to get through the day. I fear for the children.