The Factory - Chapter 4 -A continuation of The Green Door Prompt (Day 18 of the Freewrite Challenge - Apple)

in #freewrite5 years ago

Last paragraphs from part 17

     "I'm taking pictures of the factories for an article me and my colleague are writing about future space industries."
     The other woman spoke up. "Oh cool." She was thin and fit. Auburn hair swooped and hung just below her shoulders. She had the same high cheeks bones and long lashes as Doyle. "My name is Mindy Lyons."
I thought about the water bottle.
     "Are you freelance?" The man standing to my right asked. He was tall and thin with a crocked nose and uneven eyebrows, and large dark rings around his eyes. The man was young. No older than thirty five, and it was clear he was in a lot of stress...5 minute timer

Chapter 4

Day 18 - Prompt - Apple

     "Yes," I answered.
     The balding man with a huge gut standing on the other side of me spoke up. "Who have you published with?"
     I didn't know what to say. Me and Doyle hadn't planned that far ahead, and I said the only thing I could think of. "Scientific America. Popular Mechanics, are the big two."
     "Oh cool." Mindy said, bouncing on her heels, causing her auburn hair to bounce off her shoulders.
     The other woman rolled her eyes and flicked her cigarette to the ground. "We got work to do," she said as she spun on her heels and marched off.
     The men followed without saying a word. I got the sense the woman must be in charge.
     "It was good to meet you," Mindy said, and smiled at me.
     "Nice to meet you," I said, and watched as she spun around and walked away. She stopped halfway from me to the building and looked over her shoulder. "Good luck with your article."
     "Thank you." I waved and she trotted back inside the building. Bubbly girl, I thought.

     For the next thirty minutes I walked as much of the factory as I could. I took pictures of the factories and the men and women at work. My targets were the people. Machines and factories don't plot to kill people. People plot to kill people, and my hunch that someone in this factory is involved in the spring of murders over the last eleven weeks and the death of Maria Lakes two years before. Whoever murdered Maria Lakes lay dormant for two years before they lost control of their emotions and forced the serial killer to go on a killing spree to sooth their emotions.

     I meet up with Doyle in the parking lot. She was leaning against the car and biting into an apple. "Um..." she held up the apple. "Find anything useful."
     "I don't know," I said as I opened the back door and tossed the camera in the seat. "Did you?"
     "No... not really," she said. "But I did get a list of employees." She took another bite of apple and tossed it over her shoulders. It landed with a thud against the black top and rolled to a stop against a concrete curb.

Note

     I stopped about a minute before the timer because it was the end of the chapter. And I didn't want to start the next chapter without knowing the next prompt. I couldn't find a picture to represent the story, so I just used the Original picture. And for a lack of a name I just called it the factory. Feels weird to me naming chapters and scenes. I never name chapters, and thinking of a name for each chapter is kind of hard to do.

     If you read it, wow! Thank You.

      I made no corrections to errors. Only corrected misspelled words, and inserted markdown tags. I also marked the word when I first used today's prompt.

Links To Previous Parts of The Green Door
part 1, part2, part 3,part4, part5, part 6, part 7, part 8, part 9, part 10, part 11, part 12, part 13, part 14,part 15, part 16, part 17

If Rather Read by Chapter Here Are The Links
Chapter 1, Chapter 2, Chapter 3,

The Story Prompts - The Green Door

PromptsPromptsPrompts
1. Describe Your Front Door7. Your Greatest Journey13. Roadblocks
2. History8. Hazardous14. Stetson
3. Sleeve9. Plan15. Sequence
4. After Midnight10. Lucky16. Warm Water Bottle
5. Not Yet11. Cyberspace17. The goat ate my
6. Camel12. HabitatApple

I want to give Thanks to the @freewritehouse

I want to give Thanks to @mariannewest for the freewrite challenge.

Follow. Upvote. Resteem.
@shanedustin

Image Source: https://pixabay.com/en/house-front-green-door-window-768707/
Image Source: https://steemit.com/steemit/@dunja/steemit-logo-in-different-file-formats-png-jpg-ai-eps-svg-pdf

Sort:  

Oh to keep a story going with the prompts is quite a challenge
But you seem to have it coming along just nice
Let's see where the next one takes you

I have come with the next prompt and if you already have done the prompt, then next thing to do is to head on over to Free Write House :)

DQmdq4Y29JQ5TywGZ1qwnY72wArY8xS5HZFraHoJv9aE75H.png

Click On Me For Prompt👇🏿

IMG_9525.JPG

And don't forget to swing on over to the @FreeWriteHouse, to win some SBI shares

Very interesting. Can't wait to see who is behind it. Keep writing

Finally caught up with you... Really interested to see where you take this story from here onwards.

You don't have to name them - you can just put the prompt as your title :)