The Key - Chapter 3 - A continuation of The Green Door Prompt (Day 10 of the Freewrite Challenge - Lucky)

in #freewrite5 years ago (edited)

Orignal Picture I used for the1st prompt

Last 4 sentences from part 9
     "First part of the plan is we need to see if the police had missed anything in her house."
     I spun around wide eyed and gulped. "Are you serious?"
     She nodded."Only if you're serious about finding her murderer."
     I laughed, and I don't even know why. I was scared out...

Day 10 - Prompt - Hazardous
     I laughed, and I don't even know why. I was scared out of my mind, scared what I might uncover. But I had to make a choice. Was I game or not?
     "Well," Doyle said.
     I nodded. "I'm game."

     To my surprise Doyle had a key to Maria Lakes back door. "We're lucky, I just so happen to have a key to the back door."
      Why does she have a key? I thought. I eyed Doyle, and found it odd that her hand never quivered as she slid the key into the lock and twisted. It was if she had done this a hundred times, perfectly comfortable with the situation.
     Doyle noticed my uneasiness and glanced at me and then to her feet and blushed. "Maria gave me a key to watch the house when she was gone and feed her cat."
     "Have you been over hear since she had... um... you know."
     "Only once," but she didn't give any explanation.
     Telling myself this was Doyle, she wouldn't hurt a flea, I let it drop. Whatever it was Doyle must consider it to be personal. I followed Doyle inside, and found we were in the laundry room. Stacks of neatly folded cloths lay on the dryer, left in place, as if Maria would return and put them away. I followed Doyle from the laundry room into the kitchen. Even though no one had lived here for two years stacks of dirty dishes litter the sinks, an forgotten cat bowl lay next to the refrigerator still humming with life. And in the next room I could hear the TV playing.
     "Who pays to keep the electric on?"
     Doyle shrugged. "I don't know. The last time I was here the electric had been off." and Doyle face paled as she swallowed a lump.
     I wanted to leave this place. Something lay thick in the atmosphere. I wasn't sure what it was. Dread maybe, fear most definitely, but there was something else I couldn't put my finger on, and Doyle felt it as well. I could see the fear in her eyes, but curiosity pushed us forward, and followed her. She knew the house like the back of her hand. Almost to well. I wanted to say as much, but I kept my opinion to myself. Me and Doyle were friends, because I had been acting crazy over the last year gave me no right to suspect her. Besides this was Doyle, the most kindest person in the world. I followed her through the living room and up the stairs. The stairs led to a small room, Maria lakes bedroom. The bed looked as if it had just been made.
     "This is strange," I whispered. "Look how clean it is. You think after two years dust would have settled on everything. I can't go two weeks without dusting."
     Doyle swallowed. "I know. I clean your house."
     I followed Doyle's gaze to the window and noticed it had been spray painted black. I knew right then someone was staying here. I gulped, realizing the feeling I felt in the kitchen. We were being watched. I wanted to vomited. Chills spread over my chest and ran down my arms and tingled my fingertips.
     "Doyle, I think we better get out of here."
     "Yeah," she said, as she stood above the night stand beside the bed.
     "Come one." I looked down the steps afraid someone would be standing there holding a machette or something. "Let's go." I looked at Doyle and saw her grab a small black book and shove it in her coat pocket. And spun around and hurried past me down the stairs.... 5 Minute Timer

Note
      It drives me nuts that I can never get as far as want to. It's not just in writing but everythinmg I do I can never get as much done as I want to get done. Oh well, it is fun. I guess in the end that is the only thing that matters. I'll do more tomorrow and continue one prompt and five minutes at a time. The cool thing is, If I ever do finished this story, I can add up the days and multiply by five and I get my answer how many minutes it took me to write it. That'll be interesting.

     If you read it, wow! Thank You.

      I made no corrections to errors. Only corrected misspelled words, and inserted markdown. I also marked the word when I first used today's prompt.

     Thanks to @mariannewest she gave me some advice how to format this continuation using prompts, by inserting links to the last chapter. So I figured to keep from this getting to lone and save me and other people time I will insert links to previous chapters for those interested.

Links To Previous Parts of The Green Door
part 1, part2, part 3,part4, part5, part 6, part 7, part 8, part 9,

If Rather Read by Chapter Here Are The Links
Chapter 1, Chapter 2,

The Story Prompts - The Green Door

  1. Describe Your Front Door
  2. History
  3. Sleeve
  4. After Midnight
  5. Not Yet
  6. Camel
  7. Your Greatest Journey
  8. Hazardous
  9. Plan
  10. Lucky

I want to give Thanks to the @freewritehouse

I want to give Thanks to @mariannewest for the freewrite challenge.

Follow. Upvote. Resteem.
@shanedustin

Image Source: https://pixabay.com/en/key-keyhole-lock-security-unlock-2114046/
Image Source: https://steemit.com/steemit/@dunja/steemit-logo-in-different-file-formats-png-jpg-ai-eps-svg-pdf

Sort:  

Your story is still catching and Doyle seems to have all answers. I never get as far as I want either. The day is simply too short. There are times it annoyed me since it does give me the feeling as well I can only write short (very short) stories.

Posted using Partiko Android

Nice work building suspense and using the prompts to build an ongoing story.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank for taking the time read. I know time valuable. And there is a millions things to read. Thanks a lot.

Excellent continuation. 👍👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Ho Ho Ho! @shanedustin, one of your Steem friend wished you a Merry Christmas and asked me to give you a new badge!

SteemitBoard wish you a Merry Christmas!
May you have good health, abundance and everlasting joy in your life.

To see who wanted you to receive this special gift, click here!

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - Send a gift to to your friends

Wow... Who's in Maria's house? All the suspense... I couldn't wait to read the next chapter...

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for taking the time to read. Awesome!

Wow..!!! Sensing introduction of some other character... Or maybe the killer himself is staying over at that place??? But wouldn't Jonathan notice if some one is staying at an abandoned house right across his street?? Anyways excited to see how the story plans out...

I thought about about that after I wrote it, and when I go back and edit the story I'll probably change that scene somehow, unless I could think of a way to explain it later in the story. Thanks for taking the time to read. Awesome!