Magazine day

in #freewriters3 years ago

Magazine Day

Magazine day is Sunday because we get a nice magazine along with the news papers on that day.

"Don't forget to buy Eenadu too tomorrow," my mom reminds me again for the umpteenth time, and every week for that matter, even though I don't forget to bring it every week along with our regular news paper. Sunday magazines has Sudoku in it, on addition to being a savvy synopsis of the world with a main story. Several things make it the Swiss army of information, zietgest of the past world and entertainment for all spans of ages. But it seems to be lost for today's generation (does it make me old for thinking that).

I'd have to wake up early in the morning to catch newspaper's because they sell extra hot because of the free magazines. If I miss at the regular store, i'd have to walk long distance to get them. and it is always 'Andhra jyothi' that is sold early.

I go straight to Crossword puzzles that get shipped with the magazine. It is a nice litmus test to my repertoire in Telugu language. I can barely manage 5 to 6 clues,due to the language (Telugu) i learnt during my high school education. Some clues depend on movie knowledge of previous generation. Some on wordplay. Nobody minds me solving those clues, for they are entry level for my parents. As they have accumulated vocabulary throughout their entire lives. But if my father ever solves it with a pen, he's gonna hear it from my mother. Completing a puzzle represents the journey, with and in the language.

The reason i like Snakes is because of an elaborate piece on different snakes and their characteristics, featured one day during my childhood. I can still envision some of the sections of that piece and the descriptions. That is what is a magazine to me, one that instils curiosity in concise and handy manner that etch into your memories. Several curious minds must have got their lifetime passions written in these magazines.

No magazine shall ever be printed without trivia, did you know?'s which then become water cooler topics or recess filler (in my case).

Last but not least, magazine papers make best containers of street food than plastics.

You are what you read, others are what you write.

Sort:  

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @azarmadr3.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more