Middleton, U.S.A. …Part 26 …Flirting With Evil

in #freewriters22 days ago (edited)



Most people pictured satanic cults as devil-worshiping fiends, and yet Satanists historically were educated men who stood as adversaries to the church
― Dan Brown




women-model-young-woman-face-paint-body-paint-hd-wallpaper-thumb.jpg
Temptation



I realized everything I knew about Malachi Bane was based on gut intuition and Andie's impressions.

Yes, there were some eye witness reports made to detectives that were enough to launch an investigation, especially into Bane's use of coercion and fraudulent business practices.

But as for Satanism itself, belief in it or practicing dark arts was not a crime. Practitioners had the right to freedom of worship as well as freedom of speech and thought.

So, the question arose—what if I were wrong about Bane's occultism—would it make a difference?

If he was just another corrupt businessman, would I be as willing to risk life and limb to bring him to justice?

Serious questions to ponder but I didn't have an answer.



As we sat before the fire that night I debated whether or not to discuss the topic with Andie, but decided not to simply because it might make her feel I doubted her judgment.

Besides, there were the appearances of The Watchers that loaned credence to her belief that Bane had a demonic connection. But I decided to reserve judgment until I met with the man tomorrow at Sardo's.

If there was anything diabolical in Bane's intentions there would surely be some evidence of it in our interview and I'd be better prepared to defend against it.



Around midnight, Andie went up to bed leaving me to lock up the house and make sure the fire was safely out.

I found it relaxing staring into the flames and decided to let it naturally burn out before going to sleep myself.

The flames were mesmerizing and their warmth comforting and before long, I also fell asleep on the couch.



I dreamt of the romance of lying beside Andie, holding her in my arms, but when she turned her face toward me the woman I was desiring wasn't her but Maggie, the detective.

I wasn't shocked or surprised because it felt natural, as if i knew this would happen from the moment I saw her.

And she was as flirtatious and drawn to me and began loosening my shirt collar as she had done at the police precinct.

Relax and be free her voice whispered in my ear but it rolled like thunder inside of me.

And suddenly, I awoke with a start and saw The Watchers at the window, staring in at me.



The guilt and shame I felt was intense, so stifling I could barely breathe.

When I glanced back at the window they were gone, but the shame of having my secret desires exposed, humiliated me.

It crossed my mind that if Andie were right about Bane’s Satanic powers, he could have arranged for me to be tempted, thereby weakening me.

It would be hard for me to occupy the moral high ground alongside The Watchers if I were flirting with the temptation to be unfaithful to Andie.

If this was Bane’s plan, it worked—I felt I was a man totally unequal to the task and my face burned with shame and defeat.



To be continued…


© 2024, John J Geddes. All rights reserved


Photo