Middleton, U.S.A. …Part 36 …Standing My Ground

in #freewriters12 days ago (edited)



I know I'm a small, weak man,
but I've amassed a large library and dream of dangerous places.
—Terry Pratchett




Siren.png
Resisting Shadows and Storms



I just committed to a relationship with Andie and she was making plans to sell her house and move back to Toronto with me.

We figured the demonic attacks would continue and I was far too vulnerable in the spirit realm to withstand them, so It was best that I leave Middleton and return home.

Well, that was the plan, but I hadn't figured the demons would find another way to defeat me. It turned out it would be through Maggie, the beautiful detective working my case.



I thought I had all the bases covered, but Breton wasn't so sure. He warned me about the devil's wiles. He was right.

I don't think Maggie was conspiring with demons—I think she was simply an available tool they used to seduce me, through a physical temptation.

And she was indeed a temptress...and I was indeed tempted.

But unlike Odysseus in the Greek legend, I had no crew available to tie me up so I could resist a bewitching Siren...

On second thought, that was fortunate, because she might actually prefer having me bound.



"You clean up well," she smiled, when I came down from the shower.

It was a cliched remark but a tiny spark that could set a conflagration inside me that could upset the whole course of my future.

"I decided on chilled wine rather than lemonade" she whispered and stared at me knowingly.

"I better pass on the wine, Maggie, I'm already feeling lightheaded."

"Spring heat will do that," she grinned mischievously, "makes you feel dizzy."



"Actually, I'm feeling a bit weak. I think I need to lie down. Sorry, I'm just not up to a visit today."

She wasn't easily put off.

"Why don't you come and lie down here beside me on the couch?" she said, patting the cushion. “I can get a cool washcloth and bathe your forehead.”

"I don't think that's a good idea, Maggie. I think you should leave."



She got up and walked toward me.

I thought she was going to exit through the front door but when she passed, she leaned in and kissed me hard upon the lips.

"Maybe this will revive you," she smiled seductively.

"In fairy tales maybe, but not in real life," I replied, leaning past her and opening the door for her.

She flounced out, grinning and unrepentant and deliberately swayed her hips all the way to her car.



I know, I shouldn't have watched, but these things I do. Besides, I also shouldn't have let it get this far... and I won't in the future.

I'm such an idiot, I hissed under my breath, clenching my jaw and working it in fury, although my passion was spent.

Still, one thing was definiteIy certain—I couldn’t confront Bane again.

How could I? I couldn't even control my emotions.



To be continued…


© 2024, John J Geddes. All rights reserved


Photo



Sort:  

Congratulations @johnjgeddes! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 11000 comments.
Your next target is to reach 12000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Unveiling the BuzzParty Meetup 2024 Badge