Middleton, U.S.A. …Part 39 …Night Terror

in #freewriters11 days ago (edited)



The worst part is not the sleeplessness. The worst part is the general darkness the dream leaves over you, a gray film that clouds the day. Even happy moments feel encased, like holes jabbed in a hard sheet of ice.
― Mitch Albom




616ca0f306da601f2fbedeaab6c83818.jpg



I had been feeling guilty about Maggie’s kiss but when I realized Andie wasn’t there and might be lost, my true feelings became evident—I loved the girl.

Now that I know Andie is safe, I could tell her about Maggie’s moves but Andie is very intuitive and probably already knows, so mentioning it might only give it more weight. Better to ignore it and if it really concerns her, she’ll let me know.

Believe me, she's very honest about her feelings.

I’m just hoping Maggie's flirting won’t be an issue that affects working with her and Noah because we need teamwork to have any chance of keeping Bane in check…

Yeah, last thing I need is more drama.



I wake up later that night with lightning flaring at the windows.

I must have fallen asleep on the couch and Andie, not wanting to wake me, went up to bed.

I really didn't want to move. It was pleasant lying there listening to the rain, besides, I figured should stay put and be as considerate of Andie as she was of me and not disturb her by crawling in beside her.



But suddenly, something happened and I couldn’t breathe. I had no idea what was going on but I felt a great weight crushing me and I couldn’t move.

From the corner of my eyes, I saw shadowy forms being outlined by the flickering sky behind them.

And then, as if a giant hand reached down and swept them aside, the dark figures were gone and I could breathe freely again.



I was absolutely terrified. Nothing like that had ever happened to me before and all I could do was lie there trembling and gasp for breath.

The rain was no longer comforting but hissing like a swarm of snakes and the lighting bathed everything in a pale blue light that seemed eerie and menacing.

Being alone in the dark was no longer comforting and familiar shadows took on sinister meaning.



I needed the presence of another human being, someone who loved and understood and would embrace and comfort me.

I needed Andie, my soul and second self, to lie beside and just be near me.

Letting her sleep was a noble thought but needing her touch was a necessity.



I kicked off the blanket Andie draped over me and fled to the stairs. Yes, I felt like a coward but I knew my vulnerabilities.

As I glanced back at the main floor it was bathed in a strange, uncanny mist seeping in through the doors and windows. It seemed aware and seeking me.

It struck more fear in me thatn the dark forms hovering in the shadows—the force appeared to be sentient, sinister and deadly.



Where are The Watchers I wondered, and where is Breton when I need him?

I never felt so alone and vulnerable.

I realized then that having allies in the spirit didn’t mean I’d be immune from battle—I had hoped that would be the case, but now I knew I’d have to face evil head on and the fact of that depressed me.

I ran to Andie’s room, quietly shutting and locking the door and then stealthily creeping in to cuddle close to her.



To be continued…


© 2024, John J Geddes. All rights reserved


Photo