Collapse of winged rage

I expected something to happen. Like to leave my pit as it were. When the 2nd lot of food was presented to me I was not surprised as I had expected it. Having thought about it and prepared for it, I had no doubts. Well, I had one, I wasn’t sure if I would be able to pull off the role I had been given. I had too many times where others had failed. The line of dragons that had come before me had been unsuccessful in preventing this pit from falling to the evils of the Dragonslayer. This time it had to be me. After the 2nd lot of food had been gone, I was retreated back to my pit.

I was surprised when the next lot of food was not presented to me. I was not surprised when I heard the noise of chains and steel being dragged across the metal of the pit. I was not surprised when the lid was shut. I was surprised when I was too weak to break the chains and the steel. I was not surprised when the claws found there way through my flesh and deep into my heart to rip it out. I prepared myself for what I knew was to come. My heart did not beat again.



Arthur was everything a dragon should be, he looked the part with his dark green scales and his perfectly smooth outer layer. His teeth were the perfect white and even his calluses on his feet were the perfect green. He looked perfect. I didn’t want him to be my rider. I didn’t want him to judge me and only see with his eyes. I don’t know if it was his greed, Patience’s strict rules or her strong will that had brought me here but either way here I was. He was the one that would lead us. This was the way I wanted it.

He was the best prospect we had had in 15 years for a rider. It had been so long since a dragon had been good enough to be the rider. He was also the leader of a large army of shifty looking spiders. He lead them into battle and had won and died not too long ago. This was perfect.

Arthur had a lot to prove to the shifty looking spiders to prove that they would be safe following him. He knew them to be a lesser version of himself. He led them into battle looking for any possibility of victory he and them could achieve. The way Arthur had defeated the dragons was that they had been multiplied. Every single dragon had been multiplied and all of them had been sent to the pit to fight over who would get the role of rider and leader. Arthur looked at me and I knew what he was thinking. He could see in my eyes that I was angry and he could tell what I wanted. I wanted him to become our leader. I wanted him to lead us. I wanted this to all go right. I wanted to make up for all the mistakes.

He looked me in my eyes. “I need something to eat. And some of your blood.” He said.

I came out of his mouth a moment later. “You will also need a sword.” I said.

All around the pit was nothing but smoke. There were more dragons than Arthur had. He growled from his throat and the shifty looking spiders attacked all at once. I was astonished at the speed the fought. There was chaos and it was perfect. They had been surprised. The outside world had not expected this. There was only pandemonium and pain as the fighting and flesh eating began. They had expected the end of the world.

Arthur seemed to have the advantage. He was looking for the engagement with the leader of the other side. He had grown and he was killing her almost as quick as she was looking. The leader of the torture dragons seemed to good for her own cause. She looked surprised too when she felt Arthur’s teeth at her throat. He was in the middle of a fight.

I was watching the fight from above. I was watching the fight with glee. I was amazed by the battle. They seemed to be defying the laws of time and space. They were fighting, ripping and tearing, twisting around and eating, and destroying in a perfect way. They seemed to be invincible. The leader of the torture dragons was attacking the air. She was trying to get where I, the observers, were. She was almost flying. I saw that she was bleeding heavily.

All of us (myself included) and the torture dragons had wanted this. This was what she and her kind had always wanted. No one had ever had a chance to inflict pain like this. Arthur and the spiders looked like they would be ready to burst. I could see Arthur’s eyes widen as he looked up. He saw that she was there and he was ready for her. The torture dragon had not yet disappeared behind the wall of smoke. Arthur and the spiders where killing everything that came at them. She wanted to break the wall with her teeth.

Arthur grabbed her from behind. He pulled her to the ground and put his jaws around her throat. He stopped and he looked in her eyes. “Where is my rider?” He asked her.

She stared at him with her deep black eyes.

“Where is my rider?” Arthur asked again.

“He is with my maker.” She whispered.

Arthur let her go.

“He is with my maker.” He said again.

She was a strong enough dragon to shake off the battle and come back at him. She had a vine wrapped around the bottom of her jaw. She ducked him and when she did she released her jaw. She had pulled away. Arthur was on his back and his tail was being ripped apart. She ripped out the place where the mouthpiece would have gone.

She had to have used a large amount of space and time to do this. It looked like it would work. Arthur started to calm down. She had used this opportunity to fly away and put some distance between them. I looked in her eyes. I could see that she was satisfied with what had happened. She knew she had won. She knew that she had triumphed. I knew that she was going to kill Arthur and the shifty looking spiders in order to complete her victory. I looked at Arthur. I could see that he realized this as he waited for her next move. Arthur was slowing down.

He looked at the leader of the torture dragons. “I am sorry.” He said.

The torture dragons smiled at him. She flew at him with her claws extended. She scratched him so many times that blood was pouring out of him. She scratched him over and over again. I watched in horror as Arthur was slowly dying. I wanted to leave. I wanted to get away and leave. I began to feel the sting of Arthur’s blood as it split open my skin. I was the last thing Arthur saw as he was killed.

I was standing when I felt it. I was standing in my pit. I turned around and I saw him there. He had managed to drag himself to my pit. His belly and chest were ripped apart with the little bits of muscle that he had on his chest. His wings were wrapped in ropes from the spider’s web. He had a with a smile on his face, for a moment I forgot to be afraid. “I am here.” He was saying.

I untied my wings from my body and I looked at him. “You will live.” I said

“I know I will.” He was looking around in my pit. “Where is the sword?” He was finding it. I could tell by his attempt at being charming. “You are no use to me dead.” He said.

I wanted to leave. I wanted to leave but something made me stay. I wanted to see what he would say next. I did not think that I would like to hear what he would say. He knew the rules and boundaries of this realm. He had made rules for the rest of us that we had followed.

“We shall now rule together.” He said. “You are one of us now.”

“What?” I wanted to be sure I had heard him right but this was what his plan was. I could tell he had been thinking about it the fight. “I don’t want to be one of you.” I told him.

“Then you can’t be in this realm.” He informed me. He was smiling at me.


Source

Sort:  

Congratulations @artureinseberg! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10 HP as payout for your posts and comments.
Your next payout target is 50 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because your rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - March 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation

Congratulations @artureinseberg, this post was nominated by a @curie curator to be featured in an upcoming Author Showcase.
On behalf of @curie I thank you for your time and for creating amazing content. Keep up the good work!
Sincerely, Mervin (@curie curator)