You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fruits and Veggies Monday - Tips and GIFs for Harvesting Edible Weeds From a Garden Rehab - 11 Edible Weeds and 1 That Can Kill You!

I remember growing up in an Italian family the old Italians would eat dandelion and some other wild plants that slips my memory now. I also remember my uncle taking me mushroom hunting. They would only go after one type of mushroom they knew very well that always grew on old oak tree stumps. They were usually very large. I'd be afraid to to take a chance on that since I can't remember what they looked like. All the old timers are gone now so I guess I'll never get those mushrooms again.

Sort:  

I'm glad you got to experience that in your youth, @garden-to-eat. Some of these weeds that I eat, like the Crepis setosa are native to the Mediterranean region and still eaten there today, by the old-timers. So they may be the same as the ones you ate, too.

I wonder what mushrooms your uncle was hunting! I eat a lot of different wild mushrooms. You can always learn the mushrooms yourself and then enjoy them. But you are smart to not try hunting them based on distant memories. In reading reports of mushrooms poisonings, that's a common situation. Someone remembers a mushroom from their youth, going out with older relatives, but they haven't foraged for it for years. The other common situation is folks that foraged a specific mushroom on one continent, like Europe, but then they move to another continent and find a mushroom that looks like one back home. But it is never too late to learn wild plants and mushrooms. They are out there -- waiting for you! :D