You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fruits and Veggies Monday - Tips and GIFs for Harvesting Edible Weeds From a Garden Rehab - 11 Edible Weeds and 1 That Can Kill You!

I have wandered the woods with many knowledgeable plant experts and have never had anyone point it out to me. But I am reading that we do have it here. So many new invasive species!

Sort:  

I see new invasive plants every year. I think it comes from the landscaping and gardening industry, right over my neighbors' fences. The Nipplewort showed up about 3 years ago. It looked like it would take over everything, but it's calmed down. And it's good to eat. If only every invasive species was like that. If you do see the Poison Hemlock, I'd appreciate you letting me know! It will be in disturbed ground more than the woods. Your garlic mustard problem is enough for your poor woods!

My grandson is coming over this week to do a garlic mustard pulling session for me. I am doubtful it will fix the problem, but it may slow it down a bit! Poison ivy is a huge problem this year, too. I've got it coming up in the vinca by the front door!

Poison ivy is one of the real hazards of foraging! And going in and out of your front door, from the sounds of it, lol. Here in Oregon, it's Poison Oak -- and a big problem, too. Some places are impenetrable, and when there's a wildfire, the smoke carries the oil. Firefighters face a lot of risks.

It's nice to hear your grandson is willing and able to help out like that. Invasives mean we have to be diligent, every year, forever. It's almost overwhelming to think about. But your woods are so valuable, from what you've shown about them. Have fun with your grandson -- after the garlic mustard pulling! : )

The roadside is thick with it this year, so it's only a matter of time. I did read that garlic mustard can only sustain itself for 20-30 years, so maybe someday the native plants can recover.

Wild parsnip is a huge problem. It appears that nothing else is growing in the highway roadsides. It has taken over areas where there used to be large populations of milkweed.

That's at least some positive news about the garlic mustard. Although 20-30 years is a long time for you and me, from a landscape perspective it's not so long.

Wow. I didn't realize how much of a problem that Wild Parsnip (Pastinaca sativa) is in your region. It looks like you are in the heart of the invasive problem. The more folks can get on top of the problem early, the easier everyone has it. Poor milkweed and Monarch butterflies. They just aren't getting a break at all, between invasives and changes in farming.

Your Wild Parsnip seems almost as bad as the Giant Hogweed (Heracleum mantegazzianum). Here in Oregon, if folks see that one, teams are sent out to get rid of it immediately. The blistering leaves scars for years. What a contrast to all the plants that are so useful! These 2 make Garlic Mustard seem downright pleasant!