You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Starting to be Able to Breath Again

in #fucksmoking6 years ago

Fantastic news that you've managed to quit and I have to agree with pretty much everything you say. The only thing I don't ;) is vaping. Everything I read about it does suggest you're still doing yourself a heck of a lot of harm. You might not be coating your little alveoli with ash / tar (which probably is pretty much what stopped your lungs from working properly in the past), you're still taking in a lot of extremely nasty chemicals. Shit that doesn't belong.

There are miracle cures now. I should know, I use one of them. Or rather I did. 3 months on champix* (so long as your doc is happy with you to use it) and you'll be free from nicotine for good. I'm 5 months clear now without a single regret. NRT - nicotine replacement therapy - is not a good idea. And vaping sounds like NRT in its worst form to me. In that the idea is hardly to help you off nicotine (vaping companies want to make the money out of you that cig manufacturers made).

Either way, it's a massive positive step you've made and I hope your health improves significantly as a result. Hopefully, others reading your post will also be inspired to quit, too. It's better they choose to go the whole hog, but if they take up vaping also, I'm sure they'll be adding to their life expectancy. Which is what it all boils down to.

So congratulations, good luck and keep it up! :D

*I think it's around £100-150 for a 3 month course. There's a similar drug that I only heard of last week here on steemit that costs a fraction of this which supposedly you can buy over the Internet. I know I can not recommend champix highly enough. And it gives you the most lucid dreams as a lovely (/ horribly, nightmarish if you're that way inclined) side-effect.

Sort:  

The (perhaps) lesser of two evils.. Ultimately I just wanted to stop stinking like a smokey bar and the vaping from what I read isn't THAT much bettter but atleast I smell like good things instead of old cigarette.

Maaaan, I've started getting my sense of smell back too. Kind of a gift an a curse.

Vaping had far less testing done than cigarettes. Some kf those juice companies are more rancid than cigarettes, and cause other problems. Be careful

Vaping had far less testing done than cigarettes. Some kf those juice companies are more rancid than cigarettes, and cause other problems. Be careful