You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: If I delegate 30k SP to you, will you shill for me like all of @fulltimegeek's supporters?

The thing I don't understand is why people are so against bid bots and other techniques like that. I can appreciate the goal of filling steem with quality content, but if Steem is to be a global money it needs to be viable in many ways, not just posting content.

I realize the concept was "proof of brain" and it quickly became "proof of bot" instead, but at the same time narrowing Steem's functionality is bad for the blockchain's adoption. I think it is wise to embrace businesses trying unique ways to profit. For example, I've been thinking something like a paywall would be good, but its an upvote wall where you have to upvote (irrevocably) first to see the content.

I think Steem has a lot of potential, but I'm not sure how much I buy into the notion that many people can truly make a stable income from upvotes. People tend to be too self-serving with their vote value or too whimsical. I've noticed plenty of people enjoy a post from me, comment but not upvote, likely because they want to keep the upvote value for themselves. So I think the traditional ebook sales method is ideal until we figure out how to increase the incentive for people to upvote others.

Frankly, I'd like to see self-upvotes go away entirely and upvote value decline when upvoting the same person multiple times in a week. This would get people to branch out and upvote strangers, not just keep to tight little upvote cliques.

Sort:  

The n2 didnt have these problems.
But proof of wallet beat out proof of brain.

Until steem goes back to its roots, proof of profit will continue to stop steem's adoption, imo.

We had this, but stinc changed the rules to benefit themselves.
So much so that they had to push dan out from his own game.

Good for Dan :)

Well, the sock puppets haven't been unmasked, yet, so I wouldn't get too free with the kudos.

True. And it's not a kudo to Dan. It's just a fact that he left one ship of fools in time to embark on an even bigger one :)

It still could all be a set up to fleece the suckers, it just got feelings of being a real boy for a little while,...