You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: FullTimeGeek STEEM Rant #2,3,4,5,6

in #fulltimegeek6 years ago (edited)

With me at the helm, much of the garbage doesn’t get rewarded as I am extremely active in stopping and preventing spam.

That is precisely why you and @nextgencrypto have my vote. What do you think of the likelihood of yall being able to effect a change to the reputation system specifically in allowing lesser rep individuals with stake to affect higher rep scammers. I've read that this isn't possible.

Would you know if on a code level that this is the case? I believe @berniesanders was able to destroy a rep 59 account so it may not be. Still yet, some clarity on the issue would be very helpful.

I would like to know that I am able to affect a level 57 accounts rep before I go wasting my VP as it may be better for me to target a lower tier scammer otherwise.

Sort:  

The way rep works is there is a check if your rep is higher than targets, if so, then it subtracts rshares from the target's raw rep number.

SP isn't factored into it until the first check (if rep higher) passes.

Rep, in theory, can't be bought and takes time to develop, and is more meaningful metric than Steem Power when adjusting the rep of others, but in practice, rep is easily gained up or down and virtually meaningless when it can be bought from bots with no actual costs to users.

In a nutshell, rep is busted big time and virtually useless.