FullTimeGeek STEEM Rant #2,3,4,5,6

in #fulltimegeek6 years ago


In this video I rant about all the things that have been bothering me regarding the STEEM blockchain and its community.

Topics I discuss:

  • Bid bots
  • "Regulators"
  • "Content Creators"
  • EOS
  • Donkey

▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

Just looking at the list I LOL'd when I got to the end. While I fall into the #1 category, there is no doubt it will be done if I do it or not and I can do a lot to prevent the amount of garbage being rewarded from it ( which I do).

My blacklist is no over 1,000 individually researched and verified by myself. Something most of the other bot owners want no part of due to the massive time involved and the lost revenue. I couldn't even give my blacklist away if I tried.

isn't that just a 1000 line text file ... you don't need to add the research :D you could probably paste it in a post and that would be bad enough for those people, well if anyone takes that into account.

Still at least you are trying, some don't even bother, ones are too high on the steem others are too dead inside to care, I'd say you are doing fine, humm maybe request help then, give a percentage of the earnings to researchers and so on... just ideas, good luck, make sure to do something good, it's your power after all :)

But yeah the video is funny and quite on point, that EOS at least, I'm sure dan doesn't care much what happens to steem, plus EOS is already above in the market cap, it's even pushing ADA(Cardano) so those are projects with huge backing.

It will be interesting to see where things head, I mean a few days ago I saw a beast of a node by supposedly a witness team called EOS Gravity, there are probably as many ideas if not more for EOS as much as there are SMT

Still steem should be fine unless something takes the center stage as a social media.

I'm wondering "Minds" is doing, that would be the best contender, even tho so far there isn't a blockchain and it would be hard in the current environment to make one.

Running a bot is a deal breaker for me. My 500 SP vote is not likely to affect you very much, yet keep it in mind as the more minnows that feel the same could begin to have an affect.

In every other way you seemed a fine choice of witness to me.

If I do or don’t they don’t go away. Even if they do the end results don’t change, they just go underground.

With me at the helm, much of the garbage doesn’t get rewarded as I am extremely active in stopping and preventing spam.

How often you see bot owners block their best customers (spammers?).

I also do a daily curation to reward good authors, another unique part of what I offer. It’s far more than just a bot.

Much of what I make doesn’t even go to me, it goes to delegation.

I respect you position though. No worries.

With me at the helm, much of the garbage doesn’t get rewarded as I am extremely active in stopping and preventing spam.

That is precisely why you and @nextgencrypto have my vote. What do you think of the likelihood of yall being able to effect a change to the reputation system specifically in allowing lesser rep individuals with stake to affect higher rep scammers. I've read that this isn't possible.

Would you know if on a code level that this is the case? I believe @berniesanders was able to destroy a rep 59 account so it may not be. Still yet, some clarity on the issue would be very helpful.

I would like to know that I am able to affect a level 57 accounts rep before I go wasting my VP as it may be better for me to target a lower tier scammer otherwise.

The way rep works is there is a check if your rep is higher than targets, if so, then it subtracts rshares from the target's raw rep number.

SP isn't factored into it until the first check (if rep higher) passes.

Rep, in theory, can't be bought and takes time to develop, and is more meaningful metric than Steem Power when adjusting the rep of others, but in practice, rep is easily gained up or down and virtually meaningless when it can be bought from bots with no actual costs to users.

In a nutshell, rep is busted big time and virtually useless.

After working my way through the witness list on steemian.info and still having 5 votes not used brought me back to rethink my decision to remove my vote for you, @themarkymark.

Considering the strict overview you are giving your bot let us agree to disagree about its use while returning my support to your witnessing.

My apologies for my flip flopping.

It’s all good, and thanks.

Number 2 item and number 6 got my attention. And funny enough they got same comment.

Around 15 out of the top 20 witnesses own or delegate to bid-bots.

I used one today to promote my 'hey i'll pay you to curate and engage league', but you need to use 47 of them to get anymore viewers.

And when I look a trending... naaa

Peace!

I'd rather have a witness run one, to be honest, and yes I am a witness and I run one. At this point though, almost everyone is involved in a bid bot of some sort, it's pretty much in the on-boarding. It's no longer 3-4 bid bots, there are even 7 cent bid bots with minimum bids of 5 cents. It's become a circus.

In the on-boarding? Maybe the tag needs to be changed to 'pay to play' then?

I'm sure I could find 30 Witness without Bot dealings... like, 50% sure :)

I'm sure I can find 30 witnesses that don't even login to steemit or even think of it as well.

Seems a bit off topic?

30 here, not bleeding the place dry.

how about we find a way to change that Asher! ;)

That is certainly an idea........ :)

just another way we can engage this battle from a different direction. @fulltimegeek is going at it direct, but there are many ways to support his efforts. By adding a few community minded witnesses that "understand" the issues, we might even wake a few of them up. Hint: we don't have to win all the seats, just enough to make them pay attention to what is important to the people.

This was one of my campaign banners when I ran in 2016.

trust corrupt politicians.png

Is there a way to find out the witnesses campaigns, so to speak? Most of the time I don't really know who to vote for because I don't know what they stand for. I currently vote for those who I've seen being supportive across the board.

I am so glad you asked that @minismallholding (love the name btw)... I completely understand, and that is why we are gearing up for a series of witness interviews. We already have 4 lined up and plan on having as many as possible. #newbieresteemday and several other groups will be doing the promotion. Keep your eyes open as it should be coming with a few weeks. If you have any suggestions or contacts, you may get ahold of our lead guy on this @mellofello ... Thanks for the question, I'm glad you brought it up!

Good to hear, thanks for to you all for taking the time to do this.

@davemccoy I think we already have a way. We all stop using these bots altogether and we will do good.

Agreed, but my thoughts are that we get new witnesses that encourage community building behavior. Why fund the people that let the abuse occur? Threaten to cut off their source of money and they will modify behavior rather quickly!

I will check through my witness votes now and see who's naughty or nice. I really can't see these bots helping the network in the long run.

Is there a 'quick list' of which witnesses own which bots? I'm sure I could go and dig them bit by bit but it's 3.30am right now and I might not make it to the end...

Thank you.

No, the bottracker page doesn't list that :)

I got half way through a list before but I will try to finish one soon.

Do let me know when it is ready. Thank you.

Ready.

Got it - thanks for your work on that list.

No problem. May have got away without angering anyone :)

Where is it? Checked your blog and nothing looked relative. Will gladly shift my witness votes from any running a bot.

but you need to use 47 of them to get anymore viewers.

Thank you for putting that out there. I already worked out that you're never going to do more than break even on what you pay for them, but wondered whether they were used more for getting on trending. I guess not unless you've got a lot to shell out in the first place.

no worries :)

For trending, you are looking at 150-200 SBD. And perhaps a 25% loss on that in returns. But hey, you'll pick up a load of clueless followers!!

Lol! Very good point!

You pickup a lot of this:

Good post.
I followed you, you follow me.
I like your picture so I followed you.
Thanks for this post!!

so others are doing it and some are even abusing it you could say, dunno I've bought upvotes, but I just feel sad this place is less and less "human" plus the other sad part is how it's built to favor just that, how people even enjoy it and like it...

It's grim - My last post got both @sndbox-alpha 'd and @curie 'd - $45.

While I'm happy with that on one level - it's a stark reminder that the 'financial clout' of these two massive communities put together is nothing compared to the power of a few people's capital.

Yes indeed.

Well done though! I may know who pushed that one to curie :)

Omg! This video was awesome! Ahahah you have a hilarious personality, and your eyebrows express a lot.

Also totally agree with you on your rants! Hahahah spits 😂

This.was.great.

Not only did you compile 5 rants in a video that's less than 3 minutes long... You also nailed it!

I truly miss the "good old days". And I'm not talking about 6 months ago. I'm talking about how it was when I joined Steemit in July 2016.

Circlejerks, good whales & bad... But more importantly, manual curation and tons of people willing to reward good content.

Nowadays, you're pretty much forced to either buy votes or delegate your Steem Power to bid bots to generate something from your contributions. So even though I like many things about Steemit's development and growth... I also dislike a handful of things.

/Eagerly waiting for rant 7,8,9,10,11.

Hello @hitmeasap

manual curation and tons of people willing to reward good content.

That's the real issue; the auto curation and unwillingness of the majority of the people with appreciable SP to curate good contests, are some of the issues bedeviling present day my Steemit. Some people with big SP put friends and kins in autovote and forget rest of the community.

Although I wasn't here in 2016 but I can relate how well organized things were then.

I pray that these isolated cases are addressed in future hardfork. Thanks and nice meeting you.

@eurogee, the founder of @euronation community & The Host, Show Us Your Witnesses Weekly Contest

love your rant @fulltimegeek . Unsure if you are aware but i am fully funding my own UI build for Steem and would and could use your influence, assistance, connections, and anything you can do to help me raise enough funding to build my UI. I have allocated about 2k USD for my devs to help me build this, and i have created all the UX/ UI and have one other helper for some minor design work. At this time i know you are fighting the fight but i was curious since you delegated to me freely perhaps you have the right clientele to help me get my project going and completed. Unsure how much work there is to do, im getting an estimate today/tomorrow on my build so far. I have a github for the work. Im looking for anyone that knows the platform or knows react. IF anyone would like to donate SBD to @sugarsteem that'd be great, at least i know then that my out of pocket money is helping towards the bettering of a bomb UI for steem. Please let me know if you have any ideas to assist in my build. I'll definitely take on designers, react developers or kind big whales that can donate SBD or Steem power to my build. Much appreciated and I LOVE these videos dude. they make me laugh rediculously hard. hahahah. thanks man :)

lol, thanks for watching the vid. I'm glad you enjoyed it :)

Regarding funding dev work, have you been leveraging the Utopian.io platform? I'm under the impression that they support open-source projects. I will surely try to do what I can via upvotes as well. I'll also keep an eye for other possible contributors.

hmm... i have had some chatter about utopian-io from @cryptoctopus but am unsure how that all works sadly im still too new. I would like to build this UI with the intention of helping the community but also by creating a way to make an impression here as well as make Steem as a benificiary for my build. I am unsure if utopian allows that? no idea... My goal is to build something amazing and improved for all of steem to build but also have an outlet for myself that could be profitable as well. Long term goal would be to build it full time for a while. and teach scuba on the weekends lol... So many ppl here are doing so many things i dont fully understand collecting an income from bitbots, to witnesses, to server hosts etc. Im just trying to use my skills to get in on a piece of the pie. i just hate the UI's that we are limited to access Steem. So i plan to build my own that is more fluid with the community. So i am unsure about Utopian. I think that is why ive been a little bit standoffish. Again it could be because i dont understand the platform as well as you or others and could def appreciate some guidance and help. let me know what you think or how best for me to grow and im totally down. :)

haha... love it.. nice to hear your rants! I particularly think the point about people complaining and not doing anything about it... If you want something done, then do it. Don't talk about it, just make it happen!

Great job of leading the pack and I know I speak for many when I say that you have earned our respect! Thank you @fulltimegeek! :)

Amen brother, you just described everything to a T in under 3mins!

I think EOS will kill steemit in the future if someone will not take action in the problems of steemit. But the problems is what steemit is created as, things just grows like a monster to haunt us, a snowball effect happens on accounts which really is not the fault of account owners.

This great video I vote good to follow you and liking. Your follow and like on me I think. Nice good work yes.

You're just encouraging the noobs to comment like this with all those upvotes you've got from people who know what're you're doing. xD

I'm glad that one whom I have high regards for have just spoken. All issues needs to be addressed. I would like to respond to no. # 2 , use of bid bots. It was really amazing when I joined this platform a year ago and Steemians were generous with votes. After HF 19.0 , many are not as generous as they used to be. No one really cares much about good content these days. Believe it or not! Many are helping their families, friends, the poor & needy people with what they generate from they posts. When they see that their posts do not get what they think it should get, they resort to using bid bots. I understand that some Steemians use bots too to promote their posts to the trending page. Many of us are guilty of this, even some Steem witnesses. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on these issues.

@maryfavour.

It’s a real shame more people are not turning to community to get the outreach and engagement on their blogs. Some people spend a rather large portion of time on creating the content but not going out and in an ethical manner getting more views to. Instead they spend a truck load of money and have a high chance of just breaking even or taking a loss. Seems rather counterproductive.

I’ve been in and out of a few communities. I’ve had many success in past but there are also downsides as well. I still think despite the downsides people should be investing into and finding places to help build them up. I'd take investing time and energy into a community over sending someone 20 SBD for an upvote.

The amount of voting power getting locked away for bid bots is going to be a bigger and bigger issue in the future.They get to double dip in both collecting often times more money than the vote is worth on top of getting curation rewards.

Joined beginning of this month. Noticed that most of my new "followers" were all bots. Hilariously, my own laziness had me to not engage them.

While I see the efficiency and the earning potential of utilizing them, they take away the actual organic part of the platform. It's extremely ironic to hop on a "social" media just so you can use bots to interact with others.

Yes, I understand the disappointment that comes with earning "nothing" from your content, but that is part of progress.

@someguy123, are you reading this? What's there from development side that could help this platform?

That was awesome haha *dries spittle off of my face...Thanks I needed a shower :)

@haejin, remember your mantra!
Screen Shot 2018-03-15 at 11.48.14 AM.png

Hey, thanks for the witness vote. Appreciate the support!

Hello the lord of the steems, the @fulltimegeek sir

I like your thoughts and opinions for people who are complaining of not earning enough on steemit.com; they should go back to Facebook and tweeter. Hahahahaha. That's quite funny but hard truth. My position is that people should be grateful for the little the get.

Meanwhile, you're one of the great steemians I choose as pillar of Steemit In celebration of steemiversary and I made a post about it today. You may want to check it out.

Thanks for Always being the bastion of support and a great community builder.

@eurogee, the founder of @euronation community & The Host, Show Us Your Witnesses Weekly Contest

This is all well and good, but I was never spending hours on Twitter and Facebook writing content from my heart. The way I look at it, I'm getting very little money and I'm putting hundreds of hours a month into trying to build a following and produce original, funny content. Other than the interaction with a few really good people, it's no different than my Wordpress blogs except I don't have control of my content here.

I've been here for a month and a half and my account is worth about $40 on paper. I know nothing about cryptocurrency, so who knows how much it will cost me to take my $40 out and turn it into real cash.

I understand where you are coming from, but most people on here haven't built up 350k+ of Steem Power. Yes, Steemit has made you more than Facebook, but I haven't been on Facebook in two years and it probably makes me as much as Steemit has. Sadly, Facebook has made me more connections and real friendships, but that may change. Every day I meet new people on here, and though they are fine people, 1000SP is probably the most any of them have, so a $5 upvote isn't happening unless curie finds something appealing.

I'm finding that Steemit is different for everybody and to spit on someone for wanting to get their post seen or get a few extra dollars in upvotes is pretty harsh. I don't know the extent of bid bots, but if I can give one .5 SBD and get a 2 SBD upvote, then I say my post just got 1.5 SBD more valuable and I maybe get a few pennies of SP to go with it. If a couple hours of my time and creativity isn't worth $3, then I guess I should go back to my blog. At least a few people clicked on my Amazon links every month to help cover my hosting fees.

Anyhow, I do appreciate what you are doing, so keep it up and I'll try to support you however I can. I just had a few things to say.

Edit: Sorry, my @profanereviews account is worth $40. This account is worth $6. I forgot which one I was using.

Well. Finally I get to meet the face behind the name. The first name I ever heard when introduced to Steemit By @lyndsaybowes and @hendrix22. I think many have now figured out those lovely folks are my offspring. Yes we older ones can still learn new tricks. :))) I am learning so much here on Steemit and I still feel excited. I am in a bit of a lull at the moment but will come back with full force ASAP. I am committed and am here for the long haul. I have heard so much about you...all good. Keep the videos coming, we all have so much to learn. :))) P.S. Can't wait for 7,8,9,10......

LOL. I wish you would have elaborated on the EOS thing, though; I haven't seen that argument before and am not yet blockchain-savvy enough to really know why people would think so (or not).

Well, since I'm very interested in the last topic, I will be watching the video now : )

Edit: I just watched it, I know the number 6 rant will be interesting and I wasn't disappointed.

This is my first time seeing and hearing you, I've only known about your amazing rep and how you have helped so many people. Sounds like you are from the South and you sure are doing a lot of Too too'ing in there. LOL
Thank you for sharing your perspective since it's important many of us Minnows u'stand where some of the long timers are coming from.

Eagle UpComm.jpg

Regards,
@eaglespirit

Great points you make here, @fulltimegeek, especially on the "regulators". I agree "self-regulation" is how to best proceed. All the best

I can't stop laughing while watching this! It's really a comedy lol. @fulltimegeek thanks, man! And yes lol been to Facebook and never get a penny so every single cent I'm receiving here in Steemit is a blessing! Haha.. I'm still laughing gonna save this to bookmark to cheer me up when I'm down lol. Cheers! 🥂

Hahaha ! That was so funny and meaningful too. But the problem is how Steemit can get rid on it.

The biggest one is "self upvoting whales" those contents are not worth even a penny in actual but earning more then $200 on single post many time a day too.
The problem is not $200. It is their content, is their content actually worth it ?

Well, thanks for discussing about these topics in a very very funny way. I laughed a lot. Resteemed if this can Help :)

Who knew a hork and a spit could say so much, so beautifully ;)

...and a flood to dry your shoes haha

You should get into speech writing;) Nice job my friend. Thank you for all you're doing and for pushing people with your oh so eloquent speech here, to also do their part!

Cheers! Have an awesome Sunday ;)

Hork!

Bwahahaha!
Love it! I don’t mind joining the regulators police or summit? I like kicking ass! But seriously, I’m happy to be pointed in the direction of something to flag and flag it!

Flag @haejin. Posts closest to payout (you'll have to scroll down about 70 posts to get there). Thank you for kicking ass!

Cool! I will, why particularly this one?

From @fulltimegeek, last month: https://steemit.com/mmorpg/@fulltimegeek/steem-quest-1-or-slay-the-cave-troll

We've been at it for a while...can't wait for you to join our ranks, keep up with @flagawhale's posts too, and see where you rank amongst the legions flagging @haejin.

Great!! Will get on it!! Thanks so much!

IMG_20140726_195912694_HDR.jpg

Did you say donkey?

Some really good truth speech. We need more of that on the Steemit blockchain. I like people who ain't afraid to speak some sense and shake things up! Well said!

Minnow here. Thanks for clarifying a few things that have been bothering me. Bid bots. I don't think have any place on Steemit, but that's just my opinion. Regulators. There is a lot of whining going on. Steemit belongs to the community. If you don't like what is going on do something about it. Don't complain. You can flag and you have a mute button. As far as earning mega bucks for little effort, stop whining and put forth the effort or go back to FB. If you are new on the block, build your reputation and engage. Don't demand follows or upvotes. And what the heck is EOS? As far as the whale voting scum, my little flag means nothing. I am but a red fish. I think. So I will just keep plodding along, doing my own thing and hope that the Steemit world will rectify itself soon.

Liked your video very much, it takes guts to put things in a different perspective. Everyone, including me, are just kissing ass.
But when i tried to follow you on Dtube it says something about an error of some kind. Do i have too low self eSTEEM?

Excellent. Sir,pls i want to know the negative effects of bidding bot on post because i discovered that the reward bot claimed is always higher than author's reward.

It's dilute the reward pool and create a system where only those who can afford to pay for a bot earn reward. They vote on anything even if it's a piece of trash. And lastly they swallow too much. Will collect the Monday paid them and still take the curator's reward.

That is just it. You are correct. I wonder why it is like that

It's because of greed and a thirst for power coupled with short sighted ignorance of long term effect or apathy.

Keep Bustin' out those rants 🤣

DONKEY is the main threat he would be making a million a year if it wasn't stopped by the Flag and Co bringing it down to ~$420K a year. This is total bullshit we need to act now or forever lose this platform to a RACIST FASCIST POPSTAR KOREAN DONKEY SHIT ALL OVER STEEMIT stupid TA fuckcunt HAEJIN

Lol, some god ranting there. It will be interesting to see where eos and "steemit 2.0" go to.

Its called Ranting in Style.

You know, you might have an easier time on steemit if only you were a little bit funny just part of the time! ...but seriously, thanks for this. It inspired me to start a new collaborative project with some new steemian friends. I'm glad to know you and look forward to getting more people working together to make steemit better. AVANTE!!

Spit on the nonbelivabois

Very impressive! You covered a lot of ground in less than three minutes. I haven't yet gotten to know this place so well, but your five points all ring truth.

From what little I have seen and read GREED is alive and well in this community. When seems ironic, given that there are so many idealistic people here who are talking about how Steemit will "change the world" and so on.

Those bid bots only make their owners rich, as far as I can tell. For the vote buyer, it's a bit like writing a book, and then rushing down to the nearest bookstore to buy 100 copies to show "how well it is selling." A giant smarmy cat hairball to them, says I! Just Steemit emulating the outside world: A few dominant players taking advantage of well-meaning people to fatten their bank rolls.

As for the EOS thing, there seems to be "whispers in the shadows" that there is some kind of Steemit 2.0 under development to run on EOS. How that can possibly help Steemit is not logic I can wrap my head around.

But then, I'm just a cat...

=^..^=

Makes me feel like I need to clear my throat and hawk one out now :-D

And #6...ohhhhh #6!

I don't understand the part about EOS. Did you mean the future competition? I think healthy competition is what is needed, maybe then there will be no need for rants?

I wanted a place where I felt fee to talk about what I want and hope others find interesting. Apparently if I want anyone to read I have to pay bots. So I read. But not yet. I’m going to continue to curate my feed. I’m finding new tags and like minded people daily. I’m patient. I will survive here and support the platform and I will try to be the first business in Chicago to take Steem as payment! Wheeee!

You really concisely covered a lot of material there and were very entertaining while you were doing it. I have to agree that while it is not pleasant to see the big payouts going to one person for elaborate, and to me--a non-expert, questionable technical analysis, you are bang-on if we just reflect on how much we were being paid on Facebook to spend our time or produce content: nothing! I'm hoping some Facebook hold-outs will be enticed to make the transition now that busy.org has improved the interface. I'm looking forward to your next observations. Keep up the great work.

I find it amazing how much you said in less than 3 minutes! Some users would stretch it to 3-6 posts minimum to earn that revenue. ;)

Great rants @fulltimegeek, thanks! I also resteemed this post for more visibility!

I've come to the conclusion that upvote bots are a waste of time and money (at least for me). Tried power down then setting up bids only to end up at the same position in Steem I was a month ago. The mathematics behind these bots seem to lead toward a recentralization of wealth rather than a distribution of wealth as I had originally thought.

Maybe it's different for those with a rep score below 60 or so, but I think if you have a rep above that and still have to use bid bots, then your work must be trash or the platform is broken.

Hahahahahahaha

I got a kick out of this!

It's nice to put a face to the name...

Hi. I'm Dave.

15220772146748170270129609136118.jpg

Thank you for your support. I've never met a FullTimeGeek before. Only amateurs.

I agree with your opinion on the bidbots 100%, but I used my first one last week and I will use them again. While I am not here "just for the money" I am not stupid, and I look and see the people using the bots are making a LOT more than I am, and I am not so rich nor pure, white and holy that I can say the money means NOTHING to me. Folks on steemit get paid for their effort, I am a folk on steemit and I believe I deserve paid like everyone else. Pretty much everyone I see is using the bots... it seems to me that is the only way to be successful here at this point. Maybe it was different before, but the bots are here now, and they pretty well took over.

Couldnt agree more rEsteemeddepositphotos_158227428-stock-photo-viking-god-odin-with-spear.jpg

There are 2 pages
Pages