Paradox Parade. 10 SBD for the most mind-numbing paradox.

in #fun7 years ago

I need a good solid zen smack to the head right now, and want some entertainment, too. In that spirit, let's turn this comment section into a "paradox parade."


Le_avventure_di_Pinocchio-pag046.jpg


I'll start:

Pinocchio says "My nose will now grow." What happens? ;)


Submit your paradox in the comments! If you are unfamiliar with just what exactly a paradox is, see here. Best paradox receives 10 SBD.


DISCAIMER: JUDGING FOR THIS CONTEST IS TOTALLY ARBITRARY. I'M JUST GOING TO PICK MY FAVORITE AND SEND THE SBD. A FUN WAY TO GIVE BACK TO THE COMMUNITY AND FOR ME TO READ SOME NEW PARADOXES.

~KafkA

IMG_6356.jpg


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as Facebook and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  
  • The more cheese, the more holes. The more holes, the less cheese. What follows from this? The more cheese, the less cheese.

  • When swimming makes slim, what makes blue whales wrong

  • Paradoxical is when a sweet girl reacts sourly.

  • A scale weighs a lot - but is not heavy.

Tear some holes in a net and it has fewer holes.

i like a good brie or camambert which has no holes. paradox solved?

Here's my Paradox.

I had a dream. in the dream I was due to travell to the far east for a while. I had quite an emotional farewell. I got there. it was a big city. I found my to and stayed in a hotel. The view from the 15th floor or thereabouts at sunset over this enormous city was incredible. deep red and like a cinematic view. I went to sleep. soundly I awoke refreshed. I was attending a conference. I had some time to kill. I visited the old town. there the road was made of very old and large square stone blocks, a bit like cobbles but set with metal which was worn. I had never seen anything like it. I got a bus to the conference hall. I met some westerners. we chatted. It was odd seeing European people in this Far away city.

We got chatting,

we had a lot in common. we were all attending the same conference. We went together. the seminars were long in big stuffy conference rooms. it was tiring but the food was good and by the time the talks were all over it was dark and the city was lit up like a fairground. It was exotic, warm, and humid. I went back to the hotel very tired. they had tidied the room. it was spotless. I was surprised.

I went to sleep.

I awoke late and had missed some of the morning talks. I opened the curtains. It was misty, eerie and spooky. visibility was no more than 50 feet. It was a surprise. Breakfast had been left for me as I'd obviously missed it at the restaurant. It was an odd version of breakfast but there was a croissant included, jam, cheese, some still warm tea and some oriental food which I did not recognise and was salty. Bleary eyed I got a cab to the conference. The days talks were hard going and I was not in the mood. I decided to go out of town. There was a cable car and it took me on a journey across the town over a series of greening hills. the city gave way to older buildings and became more rural. At the end of the cable car I stepped out into an older world. the air was fresh and the landscape seemed like a carefully nurtured version of nature.

I found a small eatery

and had soup which seemed to reflect the area perfectly well. It contained very tasty mushrooms I did not recognise and vegetables. I went back to the hotel and ran into some of the other delegates. They came to my room and brought some beers and wine. We stayed up late and got quite drunk. I don't remember going to sleep but I woke up really early. Everyone was gone and the lights were still, on the curtains closed.

I had a hangover.

I took a long shower and lay in bed for an hour or two dozing as the sun came up. I then went back to the conference. At the end of the day I went back to the hotel, collected my things, packed my luggage, including all the bits and bobs I had accumulated over the week, got in a taxi and dozed on the way to the airport as the lights of the city lulled me. I got on the plane, it was dark, quiet and I fell asleep. When I awoke, I was back in my own bed.

IT WAS THE NEXT MORNING !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I had been asleep for 8 hours and experienced a WHOLE VIRTUAL WEEK of life and I was quite disorientated for a while when I awoke.. It was slightly unbelievable at first but I eventually reconciled it as just a dream.

I remembered the whole week

including the waking up and going to bed bits. and the blank consciousness in between. This dream was years ago, It's still so vivid I can remember it better than most holidays and trips I've been on. It still hasn't come true yet. I'm kind of expecting it to one day. In one night's sleep in my own bed I experienced a week's travel to a city in the Far East.

Explain THAT PARADOXIANS !!!

100% true story and that's not the weridest dream I've ever had by a long way.

That's spun out. A Mandela effect type experience.

Here's a good paradox that destroys post-modernism:

According to post-modernism, there is an infinite amount of interpretations to everything. All interpretations are equally valid.

In order for this to be true, there needs to be a finite amount of interpretations (just one) of what's true. (Paradox 1)

Also, the claim that there is a finite amount of interpretations and that these are NOT equally valid, must be valid as well. (Paradox 2)

Post-modernism destroys itself.

Great observation. You win. 10 SBD on the way!

UpVoted

Nobodies mentioned the dichotomy paradox yet?!

Little jhonny is about to leave school and head home.

However before little jhonny can get to his house, he must get half way to his house.

But before he can get half way he must get half way to that point.

The preceding series continues on and on until you must ask, if you can always devide a distance in half, how is it possible for little jhonny to move the first distance towards his house?

If God exists and is able to create anything, can God create a rock so heavy even he cannot lift it?

I believe this one has a relatively simple solution. The answer being no.

An omnipotent being, to be omnipotent, must be able to do only anything that is logically possible.

For example, I would not expect an omnipotent being to show me a circle with four sides because the nature of its existence precludes that it cannot exist.

The same is said for a rock so heavy an omnipotent being could not lift it. No such rock is logically possible because weight is irrelevant to an omnipotent being.

However, this does not show a restraint on the omnipotents power but a restraint on the nature of the universe.

you're hurting my brain...

Either our creator permits the suffering of the weak, or our creator IS the suffering of the weak.

Another option is the creator allows for weak to suffer. If in order to become strong, the person must go through some trial. Then, allowing them to suffer because of their choice, is what a creator would have to allow.

is that a paradox or is that simply 2 different options?

If infinity is truly infinte, than how do we know it is?

This is where mathematics breaks down.
And so they came up with Calculus to cover over this enormous hole.

This derives from the assumption that you can always add one to a number.
If you have a collection of all of the atoms, adding one more atom doesn't have any meaning.
If you have 100 blocks, talking about the 101th block has no meaning.
But, math does this all of the time.

And so, when you play around with the rules of infinity you can get many equations where
1 = 0.

I love how my paradox got all mathematical, haha ^.^

Because we say it is, it's infinite by definition.

We can say it is, but we can never prove it. That's the paradox.

Well it depends on what you're describing, if you mean infinite as a math concept, then you don't need to prove it, in the same way you don't need to prove a "1" is actually a "1", you just say it's a "1" and use it in a problem.

If you mean infinite in our physical reality, like space being "infinite," the laws of physics don't allow that.

A simple one:
"This sentence is false."

If i was to go back in time and kill my grandfather preventing me from being born then how would i go back in time and kill my grandfather?

You'd create two timelines, one where your grandpa lived (the one you came from), and a new one where you killed your grandpa.

thats only if the multiverse theory is corrct.

Yeah it depends on what you believe, either way it's fun to think about.

i love the multiverse theory and i hope its true. it would be amazing to find a way to travel/swap between them.

The Monty Hall Paradox:
Suppose you are the contestant in a game show and given the option to choose from 3 doors. Behind one there is a car and behind each of the other two a goat.
Now you pick a door, the game show host opens one of the two which you didn't pick and which has a gaot behind it. You are now given the option to switch your choice and pick the remaining third door.

Here comes the Paradox:
In any case there are one car and one goat remaining behind the 2 residual doors. Howerver if you switch, your probability of winning the car is 2/3 and not 1/2!

naw because its a whole seperate choice now, if you were to change your choice then the question has become choose 1 of 2 doors not 1 of 3.
your original chances were 1/3 but as soon as a door is opened and you get the choice to swap it becomes 1/2

Ah, the paradox works :D

No its not an independent choice because the initial state depends on your previous choice.
You have a 2/3 chance to choose a goat initially, the host is guaranteed to eliminate the other one, when you switch then you will win the car. You have a 1/3 chance to choose the car initially, if you switch then you will lose
so if you switch you have a total chance of winning of 1×2/3 + 0×1/3 = 2/3

Pinocchio says "My nose will now grow. It's because I'm lying. "

"But if I lie, will my nose really grow? Or have I deceived you?"

If you put a humidifier and dehumidifier in the same room and turned them both on, which one would win? (Credit to Steven Wright, and American comedian).

The humidifier will lose, as it needs a constant supply of water.
However, many dehumidifiers have a tank, the filling of which stops it from working.

Why do they have instructions in Braille on the drive up ATM?

Because your mom might just be blind and she still has a pension fund or something, and she knows youll take all her money if you have got her info

How do you survive of something you cant See, Feel or Taste..

But you can only hear it?...

How do you hear something, without being able to See, Feel or taste it??

Seeing the growth of his body, it seems impossible to grow his nose so long. But, it can also be possible if there is some disorders in the growth of his body except his nose..
I don't know how far I am able to justify the main aim of paradox... Because it is the first time I have heard the term Paradox... Really I like it.. and enjoy by doing a unknown task... Have a nice time ahead friend!

So, if a guy moves to Japan, and you put him in a box with stupid people, will he be dead before you open the box, or will he actually only be dead when you open the box and look in ? LMAO ... Fun Bro !

Read More, Reason More ... JTS

Means concealment under a deceptive appearance, pretending to be ignorant of purpose

"O God give me lots of steem, so that I can beat kafkanarchy, economically "Pinocchio says.... 😂

A signpost that reads "Do Not Read This Sign" :)

An unstoppable object meets an immovable object... What happens? :)

i believe its unstoppable force but the question still works.

oooh yes, right you are...

They phase through each other.

ohh reminds me this

paradox-feature.jpg

Why is water cheaper than diamonds, since humans need water, not diamonds. to survive?

Marginal utility.

a man gathers countless people by promising them that he will break a World Record. However, when the general population arrive, he gets on the stage and say that he wouldn't break any record.

NNIICCEEEE!!!.

In a poem Epimenides wrote:

Cretans are liars. Epimenide himself was a Cretan. If Epimenides is a Cretan and a liar, then the statement of "Cretans are liars" is a lie.

This means that all Cretans tell the truth, and Epimenides statement is true.

Obviously not my quote but I'd say it's a paradox?

Only the poor shall be rich.

The first shall be last and the last shall be first.

Man if im doing this right the Bible is

The earth is flat, and it's a sphere. I can prove both.

This statement is a lie.

I don't know whether it counts as paradox or not, it's called Ship Of Theseus.

The story goes like this, There was a ship. With time some parts of it got old and broke and they were replaced by newer ones. At a point of time, all the parts it had was new. Is it still the same ship?

Everyone is beautiful in the dark.

How can photons be both a particle and a wave yet have no mass?

An idea that I've been toying with for a few years now.

Paradox: the human species uses language to explain and understand reality. However, language is created in the mind of the human.

The belief that we understand reality is an illusion because it is essentially a circular argument. Its the equivalent of saying "reality is such and such...because I said so."

I don't have a paradox but HAHAHAH THAT PIC

@kafkanarchy84 So much information thanks for sharing.