You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My 80s Computer Birthday Cake (And Nerdy Gifts)

in #fun4 years ago

The release price of the Amiga 1000 was completely out of range indeed. I recall it was 5000 Deutsche Mark back in in 1985. I got my Amiga 500 Christmas 1987 and I think it was about 1500 Deutsche Mark at that time. So yeah, still substantial but just affordable.

Ahh, Sierra. Loved the Space Quest series. SQ III was one of the few games I actually bought. Just to realize that I lacked the 512 kb RAM extension needed to run it :D. Leisure Suit Larry I is unforgotten too...

Sort:  

Leisure Suit Larry was hilarious.. Actually, I didn't even have a computer that would support all those games. I had to go play at my friend's house because he had one of those fancy new IBM compatible 80286 God beast machines.

I was still stuck with my Atari 800xl for most of the 80s. My grandmother bought it for me for my birthday in 1984.. She only paid $100 for it because she worked at K-Mart and got an employee discount. Best gift ever! I remember spending all day writing programs on it in BASIC but didn't have a tape drive, so when I turned off the computer I'd lose it all.