#1 Did you know?/Schon gewusst? - The engine nacelle of a Boeing 777 is wider in diameter than a Boeing 737s fuselage! (Englisch/Deutsch)

in #fun7 years ago

I love aeroplanes and airports. I'm always thrilled when I get out of the plane and stand next to the almighty Boeing 777. You can easily recognise the 777 by the six wheels on each landing gear - and its enormous engines - the largest diameter jet engine in the world. In fact, the engine nacelle of the 777 is so big, it's wider in diameter than the fuselage of a Boeing 737.

I know several people who went on holiday from England to typical European destinations this summer. For some of them, it was their first flight. They thought their plane - a Boeing 737 - was big. It was funny to see the look on their face when I told them this fact.

I love to share information like this - that's why I'm making my own series of fun and interesting facts. I hope you will join me along the way! :)

On the taxiway at London Heathrow: a TAROM Boeing 737 and a United Airlines Boeing 777. Image by Adrian Pingstone, Arpingstone (Own work), Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons.

Ich liebe Flugzeuge und Flughäfen. Ich bin immer begeistert wenn ich aus dem Flieger steige und neben der gigantischen Boeing 777 stehe. Die 777 ist leicht zu erkennen: sie hat 6 Räder je Hauptfahrwerk - und riesige Triebwerke - im Durchmesser die größten Flugzeugtriebwerke auf der Welt. Die Triebwerksgondel einer Boeing 777 ist eigentlich größer im Durchmesser als der Rumpf einer Boeing 737.

Ich kenne ein Paar Leute, die im Sommer von England zu typischen europäischen Orte reisten. Für manche von ihnen war es ihr erster Flug. Sie dachten dass ihr Flieger - eine Boeing 737 - groß war. Es war lustig ihr Gesichte zu sehen, als ich ihnen diesen Fakt erzählte.

Ich liebe Informationen zu teilen wie diese - deswegen mache ich meine eigene Reihe von interessanten und komischen Fakten. Ich hoffe ihr folgt mir auf dem Weg! :)

Sort:  

Fuselage 737:..3.724 m * 3.958 m
Nacelle 777:.....3.742 m * 3.742 m
Just checked the dimensions in Blender :)

Well this is quite a huge difference in there. Did not know that maybe because I never left europe up to now. And inside Europe you normally fly with a smaller aircraft. Have you already seen the videos of @schamangebert here in the channel ?

Neither have I, I have only ever been on narrow body airliners and have never left Europe before. But I love aircraft and am always impressed by the size of the 777. Cheers for the tip, I'll be sure to take a look :)

Ah Well I misspelled it seems it is @schamangerbert :) but he also commented to you