My Boss got fired yesterday - My reaction was ----

in #funny7 years ago

What makes a manger into a leader? I have had my own opinions about this for many years and can sum it up in a short explanation

Great Leader traits:

  1. Always engages all who follow him/her.
  2. Are willing to get down and dirty to get the job done.
  3. Almost never throws any of his people "Under the bus".
  4. Takes responsibility for any shortcoming of his team and gives credit to individuals on his team that excel.
  5. Will set the example for team to follow.
    These are just a few that I can think of right now, however there are many more.
    Now let's look at the other end of the spectrum, the Bad Boss
    ![Bad boss.png]
    ()

The person I am referring to in this story really got the axe just yesterday July 24, 2017, and although I normally do not wish ill will on anyone, this dude had it coming.
He was giving the role as head of our department (CFO) just over 1 year ago, my immediate boss at the time was in the process of resigning and moving back to Australia to be with his wife and 9 year old son. This created a gap between me and my co-workers and the head of the department. This guy instead of replacing my boss at the time decided that everyone who reported to the outgoing manager would now report directly to him. (1st bad decision)

This guy over the next few months in his new role would often berate, insult and belittle all of the people who reported to him. In his opinion - he was the only one who knew how to do everything and no one else knew anything. In fact any ideal you may have presented to improve processes or cut cost were just plain stupid or dumb.
Needless to say, he was pissing in his own drowning pool the entire time. He went on to not only berate people in our department, but other departments as well, being in the executive level of our company, I thought he should have been smarter and keep some of his opinions to himself. The guy is from a South American country, that i will not name, that is currently having major problem with its citizens and could be on the brink of civil war. I had a running joke for most of this past year that this guy must be living out some fantasy that he is Pablo Escobar the infamous drug cartel leader that was known for extreme cruelties to those who opposed him in any way. My now former boss reminded me of this type of person.
Mangers should do their best to help and assist those who report to them, if they entertain and desires to become leaders they should try their best not to be BAD Managers first.

Oh well life should get back to normal now around here...hopefully. I had been here the past few months planning my exit strategy and thinking cryptocurrency or steem could be my next career move..
Click on pics for Links ( all free to use from Pixaby)

Sort:  

I took a class at work that's directed at management but they opened it to the engineers. It was called "the emotionally intelligent manager".

In my company five years ago there were a lot of managers who would berate their employees like you said in your post and work them to death. This resulted in talented employees who were dedicated to their work leaving the company in droves so someone high up decided that change was needed. After training the managers that the yelling and berating that was commonplace in the 1990's doesn't work, my company began to retain people a little better. The class was a real eye opener to me and I've applied what I learned to my everyday interaction with people and it's benefited me a great deal.

I worked under a tyrannical manager my first few years at the company and one month I worked 300 hours (3 weeks at 80 hrs per week then a 60 hour week). I got sick of it and transferred to another plant in the same company and I'm much happier now. My current management does some silly things but they're nice and they respect and appreciate their employees which is very comforting.

I'm surprised that in this day and age people think they can get the best out of their staff by berating and belittling them. I'm glad you managed to get away from your tyrannical manager and it's the course of action I recommend if in a similar situation.

This post received a 4.0% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @artintelicoinves! For more information, click here!

Congratulations @artintelicoinves! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!