What Would You Do If You Were A WHALE For A Day?

in #funny7 years ago (edited)

whaleday.png


They say I dream too big.

  • I say they think too small.

If you woke up tomorrow and suddenly realized you had become a whale overnight. For one single day. - What would you do?

Let's say that ned or any other super-whale delegated ALL his Steem Power to you, for one single day. - And you could do WHATEVER you want. - What would it be?

You could obviously not transfer any funds to your own account and you wouldn't be able to power down and transfer the Steem Power to your own account either. - Nothing crazy like that.

You have the power of a super-whale... - Think about that for a few minutes.


Image Source #1


What I would do.

First of all, I would probably write a new post and upvote it with 100%, just for the visibility. - I would explain within the article that I possess the power and I would upvote everyone who replied.

Secondly, I would upvote the most recent "official" minnowsupport posts with 100% for more visibility and to give minnowsupport as much power as possible. - As that would help the entire community in the future.

I would also upvote as many introduction posts I could find, with a few %. - As I'm a firm believer of rewarding others for their hard work and to welcome people to this awesome platform. However, I don't believe in handing out hundreds or thousands of dollars to people for their first posts, as that will most likely end up making them awkward and miserable when they publish their second article without getting the same rewards.

  • And yeah, I'm serious about that.

In all honesty, I would looooooove to reap $1000+ on my introduction post or any other article I publish. Obviously. - However, I know based on my own experience, that if and when I get huge rewards, I automatically start to believe that it will happen again. And again. And again.. - And the truth is, that it won't happen regulalary, for most people. - So there's no need to reward the first posts with insane rewards like that, as it will lead to a bad experience for the authors when they don't get the same huge rewards further on.

I would vote on so much content that my voting power drained to zero within a few hours. - And I would do that, because I would love to help others and reward them for their awesome work.

Further on, I'd share the rewards from my own post (the post where I announce that I had this power), with the, (in my opinion), best authors I had upvoted during this day.



Image Source #2

There you have it.

This is what I would do during 1 day with super-whale powers.

  • What would you do?

hnet.com-gifmaker_nVrMqy.gif

Sort:  

I would help others, help the ones that think they have no power against the whales, which a lot of us feel often, the whales stick together and choose favorites, i would change that, i would encourage new memebrs and current members to keep striving

That sounds great! - How would you do that? - By upvoting minnow content? :)

Yes, exactly.

That's awesome! :)

I hope that I would not change my behavior too much. I would still vote for original posts that I enjoy reading. I would probably vote more and with less ta 100% on most posts just to spread it more evenly. I would also not worry about draining my voting power to zero. I'm sure I could use a few days rest after what would be a very exciting and exhausting day.

Delegation of vests won't let you resteem on behalf of the delegator.

That is actually very true! - That totally slipped my mind. Thank you for correcting me. (Edit).

You went mad with the power, happens to the best of us.

Haha yeah, definitely!

You nailed it on what I would do also! Upvote some awesome folks here!

That's great! :)

I would focus on minnow content. Only voting on posts where the user has less than 10,000 Steem. I would also help out more Powrrful users if their content is highly original and worthy.

  • The upvotes would only be provided to posts with ORIGINAL content.
  • I know that the community already mildly rewards those who post helping articles about Steemit, so unless those poss were outstandingly impressive, they wouldn't get much voting from me.
  • I would be prowling the "new" tab for other interesting content, and once found, check the authors' other posts (similar to what I do now to determine if I want to follow someone). If you can WOW me with one post, you get an instant follow, but in most cases I have to see that your one post wasn't a fluke. If that one post was your first post, I'll likely give you a chance and follow you.
  • For every upvote I would post a comment (similar to what I do now) explaining what stuck out most to me in my decision for upvoting their content. I feel that this method helps the poster know what part of their content resonated best with their audience and can only help improve their future posts!

Oh yeah, I would definitely let everyone know who the whale was that was generous enough to provide me / them with the opportunity!

Perfectly put. I do exactly the same, and more people well act this way as competition for follows heats up.
Respect my eyeballs or I'll point them at somebody else. Followed.

Thanks! I checked out your page. I am intrigued by your suggestion about the reputation slider for comments. I agree with it maybe 90%, but have hesitation in cases where someone with a starting / low reputation actually has the maturity to post intelligent comments but is excluded because he hasn't "earned his stripes".

Overall though, I do like the thought process and the explanation in your post! (Followed) also, not trying to "thread jack" here :)

All good. I could even envisage posts...
Hey, so I'm at 38, and read this great piece (hyperlink) about widget manufacturing in subtropical, medieval communes.
Based on my unique background, I wanted to comment that widget ventilation and allocation needed to be administered separately because of the Jenkins heuristic (hyperlink to an excerpt from my best-selling book on the topic), but I find my rep score too low to comment.
If you think the author would benefit from my observation, please help kick me up to 40.

Also I imagine the interface would display posts differently before you click on them, maybe a green border if your rep is high enough to comment and yellow if it's not high enough yet.
He'd probably scroll straight past it, as it would be yellow in his feed.

I would share the love by upvoting new people's introductions and great arcticles, but leaving them a comment at the same time either of what was great on the article, or what they can do better. I think we can help each other grow by giving constructive criticism :)

Congratulations @hitmeasap! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I would upvote for you to be a whale all the way since i agree to all of the above for you to be doing specially for the minnows. Who knows it will happen.

I would guide other and upvote their undervalued post.
At least I will upvote on post : https://steemit.com/travel/@akkha/exciting-and-adventurous-rafting-in-bhotekoshi
😊😊😊😊😊