Out of the Mouth of a Child

in #funny7 years ago

kidthinking.jpg
You never know what is going to come out of a child's mouth, but you can know with reasonable certainty that it will be interesting when you ask for the meaning of a word or name. Tuesday night proved to be no different at Vacation Bible School.

I am helping my friend Michele to teach the 2nd and 3rd grade class, and there is a lot for these kids to learn! Tuesday, we talked about Jesus coming to earth as a baby. Part of our lesson took us to the book of Isaiah and we read a prophecy that Jesus would be called "Immanuel" which means "God with us."

Michele asked the children, "Do you know what 'Immanuel' means?" Presley, one of the children, raised her hand and said, "I'm not sure, but I think it is a little book of instructions." Truly, Michele and I had no idea what she was talking about and we both felt that awkward moment of not knowing what to do. Then I realized that she was talking about a manual.

Somehow, I managed to contain my giggles and affirmed Presley for her answer. She answered exactly what she had heard through our Kentucky accents. Needless to say, Michele and I now make a special point to enunciate the word "Immanuel."

thinking child

Sort:  

Manual - Immanuel - I hear a close resemblance. That's funny!

Haha! Yes! I still laugh about it. :)

This post received a 3.6% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @lydon.sipe! For more information, click here!

This is too funny. I live in Tennessee, close to the Kentucky border, and I can hear you saying the word "Immanuel" and a child hearing the word manual. What a great story! Thanks for sharing.

How cool! We might be fairly close then, as we are just south of Lexington.
Haha! Yes! I do so enjoy the bit of southern accent I have acquired, and I am very amused by the difference it makes in communication.

Lexington is less than three hours away! I wonder how many people are this area...SteemTucky Fest Ya'll!

Yes!! That @lydon.sipe and I are definitely on board for that!!

Ah so cute!!!

Thank you! They kept me on my toes all week! :)