Strange Encounters With Men

in #funny7 years ago

What is it about men being so quick to interpret greetings as flirtations? You say "hello" to one and they think you're in love with them! This is particularly awkward being a guy myself.

When I went jogging yesterday I greeted everyone who I came across, as I do. Some young dude was oncoming so I gave him a friendly "hey how ya doing?" He made no reply except to let out a strange spluttering half laugh and warped half smile as he half looked at me. His meaning was clear: he was managing to be embarrassed and mock me simultaneously. It was like I had, in the words of the music group TLC, hollered at him from the passenger side of my best friend's ride. I proceeded to run far away from him for our mutual comfort. The encounter made me think about how simply being friendly isn't always simple.

One guy I met while biking took things too far in the opposite direction. That's another story but I'll tell it now. I was zipping along beside the railroad tracks, beginning on a bridge and continuing on a steep gravel mound with just enough room on one side to cycle. I was peddling like mad, first gaining speed on the train bridge to sustain me over the course gravel ahead. I flew off the little lip at the end of the bridge and continued to really put my knees into it. Two burly humanoid creatures were ambling toward me and one of them was in my lane. Usually if people are walking toward me at this point they will step between the tracks and give me room to go by — not this guy. With an embankment on one side and tracks on the other, he forced me to bleed away all my precious momentum and come to a stop in front of him. He then proceeded to regale me with lightly creepy conversation. I'm a small man so I periodically need to deal with a range of shit that includes this. He forced a non-reciprocated hug onto me and then told me to "pedal faster!" as I got on my bike to get away. Strange bird that one. I can understand what some women put up with. It seems if I'm not bumping into weirdos I'm mistaken for one; but that's a story I will save for another day.

Sort:  

People can be strange when you meet them for sure. I always say hello to people. I'm not a small man, so when people don't reciprocate I normally say it again louder and just end up intimidating them. lol I don't really care, lol

Don't worry, just keep talking to people and you'll find the cool one out there. Thank for following me and suggesting I read this. Nice work.

People are strange! My husband makes fun of me because I say hello to everyone along the way. :D Trust me I'm not flirting, I'm just honoring souls.

Thanks for reading my post! I was beginning to think I'd written only for myself. It's so much nicer to be friendly and acknowledge people, it's good you do it. Funny how it's so unnatural to some people. That won't stop me though.

I agree and it won't stop me either!! And always write for yourself you will attract your audience and people who will relate to you!! We are never alone :)

Congratulations @pius! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!