The Perfect Response For People Who Ask Personal Questions @senseicat

in #funny6 years ago

I have been in a bit perplexed at the number of people that seem to feel comfortable asking me personal questions. I have been told that I am very approachable so I am very much used to folks sharing intimate details about their lives. Luckily, I keep to myself and the buck truly stops with me. Conversely, I have been receiving a barrage of questions and often get a prickly feeling that indicates that they are crossing a line.

what pic.png

Does anyone have a good suggestion on how to handle this? Otherwise, I think I will keep answering "WHAT?" Just kidding!

Sort:  

Ah I just say "I prefer not to answer that" The first time is the hardest, after that they will get the message.

I concur... Seems like the best way to answer since it avoids creating drama by being rude or insensitive. If they persist after that, I say ignore it.

@senseicat
I either ignore the question or explain why I have boundaries... I noticed some curious people will try and corner you, by stating assumptions, that makes it a bit awkward and you feel compelled to correct misunderstandings...

Like "Hey @Sexycat it must be great to be a young female and live in Boston?" etc...

If this is a "steemit friend" you would feel that its almost like telling a "lie" not to "correct" the person, that would be the "polite" thing to do, like:
"-No actually Im a dude in my 40ties from Ireland".

But this is a virtual community where we have the choice to share as much personal details, as we want, and these messages are public forever in the STEEM blockchain, so you are not being rude, by not replying to these kind of statements or questions...

Cheers!

/FF

With height you can talk about any topic to the most intimate, it only depends on the level of confidence you have with the other person.

it happens most of the time when people don't know the boundaries or just want to push beyond them when asking personal question. Usually when they try it, i just respond by saying "i think that's personal" "don't go there"