Things I Don't Understand - #1 of 31,533

in #funny8 years ago

The perils of establishing communication with other humans are studied diligently by our best minds at our best universities. Pundits, gurus, and other assorted experts are daily imploring us to 'focus on better communication' to cure all manner of ailments as diagnosed by those very experts and gurus. It is passing strange, to me at least, that an entirely new form of communication has entered onto the scene, a new language that is not spoken - texting. This form of communicating may be getting studied -but, I haven't heard much about it. Turns out that is kinda the point.

My first encounter with this strangeness came about at an airport. I am disposed to traveling early in the day, and, not having consumed my requisite coffee limit, decided to buy a cup. As I approached the counter, the young lady behind it was jamming her finger onto the screen of one of those fancy new cell phones. When she saw me she apologized and asked what I needed. I said I was wondering if the coffee was on and could I get a cup. She said it would be a few minutes as it was still brewing, but we could settle up while I waited. During this exchange, her phone was beeping and jangling something fierce. She apologized and returned to jamming her finger onto the thing. Concluding, she apologized again, explaining that she was having some trouble with her daughter and said child's choice of school clothing. I, being a parent myself, offered to wait while she called and talked some sense into the child. She said - and this is what I'll never forget - that she would rather use texting as it seemed to have a greater effect.

She might not have noticed, but I was stunned. How could a typed out message have 'greater effect' than a mother's voice? I finally got my coffee and moved on, with something strange to think on.

I am fascinated by technology and am daily reminded of the many wonders that benefit me and my fellow citizens. From indoor plumbing to the internet, innovations and new combinations of technologies are making life easier, more convenient, and better. I am curious, though, about this texting phenomena. Maybe I just think about it wrong, or, I just haven't spent enough time on horseback or a tractor (my form of meditation) in deep contemplation to grasp the core of it. How does typing out a short form message make it more effective? Why has this new abbreviated 'almost' language gained ground with our youth? What in the blue blazes of hell is a hashtag? And, just now, you didn't see it, but the grammar Nazi-bot thingy just told me that "hash tag" is now one word. Incredible.

The world is an amazing place and I learn new things every day. Let's hope that I can learn enough of this new language to communicate with the younger generation. Because if I don't I might not be able to order coffee!

Regards,

Crabbysob

PS - Here is my first set of hashtags - #life #storytime #funny

PSS - My title states that there are 31,533 things I do not understand, but, being honest, that number will probably go higher. Much higher.

Sort:  

Congratulations @tad-auker! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!