Funny Dementia Stories Steem

in #funny8 years ago

**

My Dad

**
old man dance
Loving someone with dementia is like removing pieces from a jigsaw puzzle a few pieces each day until the image is unconizable. But it also opens the door to distant memories that was once forgotten. Sitting down listening to some amazing stories can bring you even closer together.

When I would go to the hospital to see my dad, I would always show him photographs of his family to help his memory, on this occasion I showed him pictures of his three sons, me being the youngest at the end. As I point to each son and he would call out the name but when it came to the last son (Me) he would ask me who’s that young man? I would then say his name pointing at the picture “ it’s me dadno that’s not you he’s good looking” he replied.
"Thanks dad"

enter image description here
My dad Lost the use of his legs two years before he passed, but each day I went to see him, he would tell me he has been into town or gone to the pub and had a drink with his brothers (remember he has not left his bed for two years), his eyes would sparkle as he laughed and told me what they talked about in the pub. I was always fascinated by the detail of his memories. Although dementia stripped a lot away from the soul, it couldn’t take away his imagination and laughter.
enter image description here
On the worst days my dad would sometimes forget that he was married and ask me who is that woman referring to his wife. But by the end of the day he was in love with her again, just like the first day they met.
How lovely is that?

If you have some amazing stories, add it to the post.

Sort:  

Hi,
the metaphor you used to describe Dementia is spot on. I really enjoyed this story, thank you for sharing. I perform music in care homes myself and I worked with a resident called Terry (a really nice guy). He would forget who I was every time I came to visit the group. He would often look at me with an expression like 'who the hell is he?', but after I sang a song he recognised, he would call me Ollie, as if he'd never even forgotten my name in the first place… Indeed dementia is a cruel disease, but a photograph or song can be all thats needed to unlock a lifetime of memories. Again, thanks for the story. Take it easy. Ollie L