MLB player making $25 million this year can't throw to first. (Jim Shorts Reports)

in #funny6 years ago

Jon Lester has been the ace of his team at just about every stop.

In his 12 years in the majors, he has 159 wins, 2041 strikeouts, a 3.51 ERA and 0 competent throws to first base.

He simply cannot throw the ball there.

As a result of this bizarre mental block, he has begun to bounce the ball to first base... on purpose.*





I give him credit for embarrassing himself in order to help his team. It also gives hope to every little leaguer who also struggles throwing the ball to first base.

*This is actually not a joke. He is calling it his "Jordan to Pippen bounce". ESPN

Sort:  

I don't know anything about sports so the references elude me, but I see you often enough here so I'll throw a vote :)

Yes! A participation prize! My favorite part of life is when you get rewarded just for showing up.

And since you aren't too familiar, I'll just let you know that all of my sports references are totally hilarious. There hasn't been a clunker in the bunch.

I am also a regular liar.

He actually worked a lot on this issue last off-season and was much better at holding runners and throwing over to first during the 2017 season. Still relatively easy to run on, but not a total laughingstock

I give him credit for trying, but it is still really bizarre.

That gif is too funny! I like Lester, but too me, he's always felt like a 2 (or a 1B)...I'd certainly rather have guys like Kershaw, Scherzer, Kluber, or Strasburg... To me, those guys are "aces", dudes you know you can throw out there every 4-5 days who will shut the other team DOWN. Lester is great, but he doesn't scare me as much as the other guys I mentioned. I know he's their ace, but I think that if the Cubs make the playoffs this year, Yu is going to be the true Ace/Cy Young candidate.

You are probably right. It just kills me that the dude can't throw to first. I haven't seen anything like this since Mackey Sasser or Steve Sax.

If my memory serves me correctly, Chuck Knoblaugh was notably brutal as well.

Yes! Another one with the yips for sure.

your post all so good.i like it your post@theregularguy

give me upvote@theregularguy