Goats & Trees could Save the World

in #future-food8 years ago (edited)

  Blog post #1                                                                                                                                 

     Goats & trees could save the world. What a bold statement to make. For how could either species save the world? Well, with my ever increasing experience to life with goats and trees, this statement seems not so far-fetched.  

     Let’s start with trees. The importance of trees have been sung to us from time immemorial. Unfortunate for trees however, mankind’s desire for wealth and a coexistent expansion of civilization has torn down many a great forest.  Agreed? Then perhaps my future posts could interest you in a cup of, “I can make trees work for us without killing them”?  

     There is hardly a foe to challenge the truth that we need trees, but do we really need goats? Well friends, aside from being a source of meat, milk and fiber, these animals can thrive on land that is not arable and otherwise basically good for two things; growing trees and rocks.  That withstanding, we move past much of the argument claiming that livestock occupies land which could otherwise grow fruits and vegetables for consumers. If managed correctly, Goats and trees can work well together. 

     Goats and trees working together is not something new. In Europe, prior to 1900 and the Industrial revolution, farmers turned to the forests to support their livestock. According to one historian, “Every tree was a working tree”. Trees were pruned in a manner referred to as, “Pollarding”. Pollarding was a way of cyclically pruning a tree for animal fodder that actually encouraged prolific growth and longevity of the tree. My study and practice in this almost lost art came across my path most serendipitously. I would like to use this blog to share my findings with the Steemit community and hopefully prove to others that during this time, and with the struggles that our world faces, surely, “Goats and Trees could Save the World”. Please follow me on Steemit to receive future posts. Bless.      

Sort:  

not sure if it's me or something else. expecting to see a image but I don't see any.

Sorry, I thought I added one to the post, but when it was published there was none. This was my first post, and with no preview button, or edit option on these posts I can't fix it.

Oh wait....I see the edit button now. Thanks for getting me moving on that.

Last month I have a post about including image in post. If you need some info and cannot find it, let me know.

Ok, I went looking for it but couldn't find it. Please send the link. Also in my content create frame there is a "link" button but when I hover over it, it gives me a no access sign. I'm assuming this is how I can upload video. Hopefully your link addresses that too.

the Edit will not be available after a while - I think after payout.
I checked a bit more details and you were trying to link put this picture from FB: https://www.facebook.com/mahnafarmsboergoats/photos/a.212368982240889.64440.212308732246914/659060510905065/?type=3&theater
It's best to have a the pic hosted. For me I use steemimg.com from @blueorgy.
Personally, I stop using the Editor as I rather work with HTML and paste the content in when it's complete. :-)

OK, here's the link you asked for:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@ace108/how-to-include-image-in-your-post-reference-to-using-steeming-com-in-include-pictures-your-post
For video, I didn't do before but I test once if you create a link to youtube video, it embeds automatically but for other video it does not. If you use the editor to put in a link, do enter the text first, e.g.., CLICK HERE, then highlight the text and click on the link icon in the Editor and you can then enter the URL for the link. good luck with that.

Right on! Thanks so much for helping out a greenhorn. May your Steem rise. :)

Very good opinion piece. Rural areas have always done better during conflict times. Trees and goats will survive and allow people to prosper!

Thank you for that insight.