Loving Life in Kauai!

in #futurewhales7 years ago (edited)

Aloooooooha Steemians! I'm getting so excited for my trip to the Big Island of Hawaii over Christmas! I have Hawaii on the brain, what can I say? So I thought I would share some pics from our last trip to Kauai. And this is just one day!!
One thing I really LOVE about Hawaii is the jet lag! Yep, you heard that right! Jet lag in Hawaii is awesome! Coming from Cali, we gain three hours so for me that means I'm up before the sun every day. In Cali if I'm up before the sun, I roll back over and go back to sleep. But not in Hawaii! In Hawaii I am up and at em like nobody's business!! Sunrise hikes, volcano sunrises, beach sunrises...you name it, I've done it! I'm like the Bubba Gump of sunrises when I'm in Hawaii! I mean, seriously, when things like this are happening outside, who wants to be asleep?
For those of you who have a harder time getting up early, have no fear! The wild chickens will see to it that you never sleep too late lol. This is Guillermo, our alarm clock for the week...I'm pretty sure he thought he lived in our condo!

These pics are from a sailboat/snorkel tour we took along the Napali Coast with Blue Dolphin Charters. We chose to pay more for the option to scuba dive as well, but I actually wouldn't recommend that part. Even though our scuba guide was such a professional and fun guy, the choice of location for the dive just wasn't that spectacular. The tour of the coast is amazing enough by itself, so choosing a tour that is just for the boat ride is perfect. Maybe even one at sunset or with dinner would be a good upgrade. Then, if you want to scube dive, go with a tour that is specifically just for diving so that you know you are going to an awesome location! The captain and crew were super helpful and friendly and knowledgeable and fun, and the tour of the Napali Coast was breathtaking!! We saw spinner dolphins and bottlenosed dolphins, TONS of them!! That in and of itself was worth the price of the tour to me!!!
Look at this amazing coastline!!



How is this for a perfect secluded beach? You can only get here by kayaking around the coast or doing the Kalalau Trail, a dangerous 11 mile hike from Ke'e Beach to Kalalau Beach. I did a portion of the hike this time but couldn't do the full thing bc we didn't have permits to camp overnight. Definitely doing it next time though!!


Of course we couldn't resist the Titanic moment

After getting nice and tipsy on the boat ride back, we met some new friends and went to the Kauai Coffee farm to frolick and play (and sober up haha!)



We had a blast sampling all of their delicious coffee and running around the farm grounds with our new besties! It poured rain for like 10 minutes, and it was AMAZING! I've been living in Socal for 12 years so rain is something I have come to cherish!

Have you been to Hawaii? To Kauai? Ever hiked the Kalalau Trail? Let me know in the comments?