Shock Horror

in #gadget3 years ago

Sony Dualshock 3

THE OLD IS NEW AGAIN


ps3dualshock 3.jpg

Just the other day I was playing around in AltspaceVR in preparation for HiveFest next month. I figured I better get used to the environment, as well as the controls on my keyboard, since I'll most probably be attending in 2D mode.

I suddenly had an idea; a joystick! Why not buy a joystick, or at least a game control pad, for my Mac to make the whole thing easier. After all moving around a virtual reality world was no different from controlling a character around a computer game. It was also how I got around Playstation Home, a virtual world much like AltspaceVR, back in the day.

I googled "game pads for mac", and saw a bunch of them. I looked at prices on Amazon and they were affordable. Then another thought occurred to me.

"Hey, what if my playstation controls work on the mac? I mean, it's got bluetooth right?"

I hit YouTube with the question and, not surprisingly, it spat out hundreds of videos with such titles as "Use your Playstation/XBOX controller on your Mac".

It was as simple as pairing a mouse. However it didn't work in AltspaceVR. I don't know if I need to download drivers or switch it on in options somewhere. The experiment continues. For now though, I seem to have breathed some new life into some old gadget.

Side note: I had a quick look on eBay and these controllers are selling like hot cake. I can see about 20 sold every day! So if all else fails, I could probably get about 20 quid for it.

Peace & Love,

Adé

Sort:  

I tried AltspaceVR and it seems usable on my old PC. I do have a USB joystick, so maybe I should see if that works. I have not interacted with anyone in the VR yet, so need to see how that works. We could do with a trial run before Hivefest.

!BEER

Beer didn't respond lol.

We should organise a pre-Hivefest meetup. That could be fun.

We could do with some virtual meetups anyway. I did one in Zoom ages ago, but not heard about any since.