1# Game review : Call of duty WWII || xbox one

in #gamereview6 years ago

So I finished Call of Duty WWII this morning. What can I say? It was a welcome return to ‘real’ war. None of this flying about, exo-suit on Jupiter tomfoolery. Getting shot in the tits while you’re up to your nutsack in mud and the salty tears of ruined farmers. That’s where the action is.

As you would expect the action is frantic all the way through, and there are nice variations in gameplay that keep things fresh. Stealth sections, sniper sections, parts where you’re driving, controlling aircraft or firing some heavy, mounted distributors of molten lead. It was a pretty wild ride, to be honest.

As far as the audio and visuals go, it had more polish than a perverts knob. I played it on Xbox One X so the 4K and HDR were a delight to behold. All of the weapon sounds and explosions had the requisite heft. You can’t ask for more.


My only gripe? The storyline. Now, ok, it’s a bit like complaining that the storyline was flimsy in The Expendables or Baywatch. Anyone watching those movies for the story should have their nose twisted with pliers. BUT... it was your usual video game war storyline, focusing on the heroics of the conflict. That’s fine. I have no problem with that, it’s a game. But then something was ‘tacked’ onto the end to try and give the game gravity. I won’t spoil it, but it seemed like the close of the story was shoe-horned in to try and convince you that the game had a conscience about the tragedy of war. When comparing recent games of the same genre, I thought Battlefield 1 handled that a bit better.


Oh yes, there’s multiplayer too. I almost forgot. I’m not good at that. The end.