Terraria - It's an Adventure

in #games8 years ago

I’m 1200 ft down, and all I can think about is ‘Why didn’t I bring more torches?’ It’s dark, and shadows flicker in the dim edges of my vision.I can hear them coming. I had never suspected that my journeywould lead me here, lost and hoping for a miracle, in this dank hole,somewhere far beneath the surface.

Terraria (2011) is developed by Andrew (Redigit) Spinks and his team Jeremy (Blue) Guerrette; Finn (Tiy) Bryce; and Gabriel (Red Yoshi) Henrique Kiesshau. Terraria is a game about discovering your own adventure. One of those focus-on-the-journey- not-the-destination adventures, where you find your inner person struggling to escape into the fantasy.


[youtube=


Lacking a single genre, I would call Terraria an exploration, adventure and building game, themed on such classics as Super Mario Brothers (Nintendo, 1983) and Super Wonder Boy (Sega, 1986). It offers a traditional audio experience, and includes classic background music to match the retro atmosphere. Unfortunately genre classification and traditional review methods don’t do Terraria justice. With this in mind I thought it best to share just one of my experiences with you.

I dig, for no other reason than that I can. That was until I found ore. At first I crafted a copper sword, then an iron breastplate. I could feel reality slipping away as I sought more than just armour, and protection from the waves of creepy-crawly dwellers.

My addiction becomes even more apparent as I seek the unknown riches from even greater depths. What began as a task seeking safety becomes a quest for a holy grail. I discover new and frightening experiences, and deliciously rare objects of questionable origin.

With resources in hand I began to build. My hut had grown cramped. Although functional as a workshop, it lacked personality. With wood and stone I begin my creation. My first attempts are practical and sensible affairs. Tenement blocks, for my comrades and I to share a functional life. This was soon replaced by extravagance, gold chandeliers and silver architraves were only the beginning. It took a great deal of time to complete, and I was interrupted by the ravaging goblin tribes and roaming undead. I did however complete my Sydney Opera House, my Tower of Babalon, and my Castle of Epic. Now there was only one thing on my mind: defend it, at any cost.

I felt a cold chill down my spine. It was a new and exciting feeling. I had done all there was to do, plumbed the depths for riches and built a home of unparalleled beauty. This new experience was exactly what I had been waiting for; a culmination of effort to this moment. Then I saw it, and a sickening bile rose in my throat. Glaring at me with it’s one massive bloodshot eye it howled in anger. I held my sword aloft, and shouted from the battlements.

Terraria is an epic ballad in the making, with each and every step a new page in the tale unfolding.


Terraria is an adventure un-planned; un-scripted and un-repeatable.


It’s 4am, and I’m supposed to get up for work in three hours. All in all, it’s not a bad buy for $9. When I knock off work, I will try the multiplayer.

Note* This is an old review form my personal blog. Seeing what can be done with the Steemit platform