You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What do you dislike about video games?

in #games6 years ago (edited)

I actually couldn't agree more. The new trend is to make games that have little to no gameplay and replace most of it with cutscenes and predictable stories so normies can enjoy it without getting frustrated. I used to be a hardcore gamer, but as soon as this generation hit, I completely lost interest in recent games, with only a few exceptions. I really hope this trend dies and we can go back to having some more creative, challenging and diverse games.

One of the few recent videogames that do deserve credit for being interesting and somewhat original (at least the ones I can remember atm) are:

  • Cuphead (challenging, beautiful artstyle and soundtrack, also very fluid controls).

  • Resident Evil 7 (specially the "End of Zoe" DLC) .

  • Dead Cells (Played it recently and I like the concept, although I think it could have more levels and different paths, but for being a indie game that's acceptable).

  • Horizon Zero Dawn (for having an interesting concept and having elements from other games being well explored and well executed).

Now I do have some favorites from 6~8 years ago, because after that I realized the quality started to drop. Those would be:

  • Portal 2.

  • Dead Space 2.

  • Resident Evil 5 (even though it was heavily criticized for not being a horror game, it was fun and playing it coop was the best experience I've had in any other coop game).

  • Dark Souls 1 and 2.

  • Alice: Madness Returns (gorgeous game, almost hard to believe EA had something to do with it).

If you haven't played any of those, I recommend checking them out.