My Three Sons - Introducing my kids to the SNES

in #gaming7 years ago

 

I just started introducing my three sons to video games the other day. It's amazing to see a young person be introduced to something other than an app on a smartphone or a high-end computer gaming rig. Many of us got introduced to gaming by a neighbor kid or an older sibling and it's hard to imagine we ever had that look of wonder on such dated graphics.

My kids were like "Whats wrong with your screen Daddy?" 

There are many classic video game consoles out there but unfortunately there is only so far back, technologically speaking, a child of seven, five and three are willing to endure. Maybe when they are a little older I will show them the Atari 2600, but for now I figured I would start with the Classic SNES


Games played

  • Super Mario Brothers - They watched me play a few levels but got frustrated when they attempted to play. This platform game is all about timing and they struggled with that.
  • Super Mario Kart - After about 5 minutes of watching me play my oldest requested a turn. I explained the controls and he was off. He really enjoyed Super Mario Kart the best and actually played for about 35 min managing to come in 1st place 3 of the 5 races.
  • Secret of Mana - All the boys were interested in the story and the battles. We played this for about an hour taking turns reading the dialogue and fighting monsters.


My other two sons kinda just watched. Overall they seemed to enjoy watching me play but were not that impressed with the games. I hoping it's just their ages and not the game graphics lol. Ultimately it's all about spending time with my kids and introducing them to some of the fun things from my childhood.


I would love to hear about any experiences other parents had with their kids and if there are tips or games that worked better for them. Please feel free to comment.





Sort:  

You can try to show them old phone !!!
It is going to blow them away !!!
=]]]]]]]]

My mom still has a rotary phone for some reason....They get confused when ever it rings.