How to Cope With Post-Game Emptiness 101

in #gaming6 years ago (edited)

"Time... Time rots everything. Even hope."

-Elizabeth (BioShock Infinite)


So right now I'm having that feeling of emptiness after an epic story, the moment when it all end and you just stand there looking out the window with a big hole in your heart not knowing what to do with your life next. We all know what I'm talking about here, yes? Except I don't feel it from the end of a game, but from an anime. I finished Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann for the 2nd time the other day. Now I'll never see sunglasses and drill the same way again. 

I also coincidentally read a post about this by @maeva yesterday and that makes me wanted to figure this whole thing out. I really didn't know exactly how to cope with this feeling until I write it all down. Writing really is helpful.

Anyway, here's my tips to deal with post-game emptiness. Specifically video game.

Play Relaxing Games


To me, relaxing game is like that comfortable bench you sit on when you need a rest after much suspense, excitement and/or adrenaline. So after you reach the end of that epicness, you might want to immerse yourself in relaxing games with beautiful atmosphere. We have many games for this available such as Firewatch, ABZÛ, The Witness, Journey, AER: Memories of Old, and many more.

However, if the relaxing game you play is plot-heavy and/or have storyline with an end, you might end up with more emptiness instead. So I suggest you pick the 'lighter' ones in terms of plotline like Stardew Valley or Meadow. 


Absorb All the Greatness to the Fullest


By this I mean doing unfinished side quests, explore and discover anything until there's nothing left, or replaying the best moments in the game. The latter is what I usually do.

But if you're done with the in-game contents, maybe reading the backstories you missed on the internet, listening to the soundtracks and put it on your fave list if you like, or if the game has books or other form of readings, are huge additions for this method as well. Including 'smaller' fan made stuff too like funny videos, theories, fan arts, etc.

This is meant to make you have enough of that particular game and when you finally have enough of it, you can start another great story again.


Play Multiplayer Games


Since this emptiness comes from amazing yet sometimes heartwrenching storyline in single player games, playing quick online games like Team Fortress 2 and League of Legends might help to distract you from that feeling. 

But, well, you know how online competitive game is... there's probability that sadness turn into ragequit, which I'm sure is no better. So the best way to play online competitive games is, as we all know already, play it with your squad. 


Play the Game Again in Different Way


Same same, but different... But still same!
This is similar to the "absorb all the greatness to the fullest", but this will likely won't work if the game's replayability is low. This will work best if the game have New Game+ feature that allows you to be a badass from the very baginning of the game. We usually find this feature mostly in action and RPG games. 

And what if the game don't have New Game+? This is when we send modders a fruit basket. Modders works is something to thank as well, because they are not only fixing problems the developers can't fix, they also make pretty much any type of mods to suit your desire, from small additions that are not drift away too far canonically, e.g. NCR Veteran Ranger armor in Fallout 4, to modifications that makes the game itself confused, e.g. 2B in Skyrim. 


Don't Play Games At All For a While


This is a completely different way than the previous ones to cope with post-game emptiness that might work to some people. Unless you're addicted to video games, we do have time for both games and another hobbies or activities, yes? But by stopping your gaming time completely for a while, this is not only could reduce that post-game emptiness but also make your other hobbies have twice the usual time to do. 

The free time you usually fill with gaming could be filled with your other hobbies more such as drawing perhaps, whether it's digital art or painting. Or your hobby in music, sport, anything. It's a win-win, yes?


Forget Everything About It As Much As You Can


I know it's impossible to forget something so amazing that it might as well make you cry. Atleast not quickly. This is what I've been doing since a few years ago. I played it from the first one to BioShock Infinite, to Burial at Sea as well in 2013 and I've been trying to forget everything about BioShock as much as I can. 

It went well at first before I joined Steemit, but when I'm writing about games like this I can't help but writing about it and seeing BioShock related images again and again. Like that Lutece Twins I keep posting every twice a week.

This is probably the least tips you want to do because I think it's the most difficult one. How this is different from the other tips? The difference is the other tips are supposed to make you forget the emptiness feeling while this one is meant for you to forget that and the game itself, so you can have that amazing "first time" experience again should you want to play the same game again, which I kinda failed to do.

That's it, everything I didn't know I have in mind until I write it all down. Sorry if it's too long, I didn't expect that myself. Thank you for stopping by. Your time and your upvotes are greatly appreciated. Stay tune for more of my gaming stuff.

A quick note... you might want to follow the author I mentioned, especially if you're into photography. Why? Check it out yourself and see her photography posts.. 

For more gaming stuff..
Follow me, would you kindly?


Previous Posts:

#Gaming Posts of the Week - Underrated. Post is Underrated.
Ni No Kuni: The Game I Didn't Know I Want
In Short, My Niche is Gaming
#Gaming Posts of the Week - Laughter In Reviews


Images sources: 2, 3, 4

Sort:  

Hello,

I only see your post and the mention now!
It's true that this is also how I feel about video games. This emptiness is even greater than for series or films, because all along the game, we played a character, we appropriated him, we appropriated his life, his universe. Sometimes we had to make difficult choices. Anyway, thank you for this beautiful article, I regret not having seen it before !

That's okay, it is difficult for us to know if we are mentioned somewhere because there's no notification for that.
I'm glad you enjoyed this post, and I should thank you as well for your awesome post that had its role to move me to brought all of these out of my mind, which was unclear until I wrote them down. And oh, you explain it better, in my opinion, like.. more touching(?)
Anyway, I hope by mentioning you here you got more viewers to your photography works..

If you want, I found a website created by roxane that lets you know who mentioned us. I put you the link: http://api.comprendre-steem.fr/mentions/
You just have to change the name where there is @ and then you will be able to see who mentions you in the articles but also in the comments (by ticking the box).
I am very happy to know that my post inspired you for your very good article!
That's a great compliment, thank you very much !

Aw yiss! This website would be very helpful, just what I've been looking for. Thank you, and
you're welcome!