Devblog #2 Obtaining skills, story concept, doubt about the genre and a little continuation of the roadmap (WIP)

in #gaming6 years ago

Hi Steemians! Welcome to devblog #2!

Obtaining Skills

Almost a week ago since I decided to really start the process of creating instead of thinking. A lot has happened in my mind and I've started to learn Gamemaker. Eventually I will use a more professional engine but for my first game and for concepting the workflow is very efficient. Also the limitations of the software will force me more into writing code myself. This will also reveal my weaker aspects so I can work on that knowledge or hire a professional for the job. I've done various tutorials myself and I'm building a mini platformer for educational purposes. I'm focusing on mechanics and such to create a silky smooth but challenging gameplay. I thought it was a big punishment since I'm also a father since a few months and my focus sometimes is not longer than 30 minutes but I've found it pretty easy to combine. I`m not an expert on programming languages but I've mastered BASIC a long time ago and can write HTML, CSS ( I know, no programming languages) and PHP. Never had any purpose for learning other languages until now. I`m not deciding yet which one I will learn beside GML and maybe C#. My focus on this choice is not priority one for me at the moment. Easy to get lost, easy to lose focus.

Story Concept

I've been thinking about the story for longer then a few weeks. My creativity is at his best when thinking about new stories. But to be honest, I was also a bit lost in several different stories. Some where to much of a fantasy and had my doubt if they will be interesting enough, others where too much based on humor and lead to a dead end. I've gone a bit back to reality and I thought, maybe it's a good idea to base the story on my personal life with a bit of added fantasy. This idea kept me busy for almost a week and I still am pretty sure that I will use my personal life as a story. I've been trough a lot in the past which al had their good or bad endings. Lot of moral choices etc, perfect for a story driven game. Also I can include a bit of the future plans for myself into the game to show to the people  what future games will bring. Don't know if those will be sequels or not. Don't think so the be honest.  
 

This choice for a story will also decide the genre for me, but I`m not 100% which genre I will choose .

Doubt about game genre

As written, I`m still in doubt. RPG's or Adventures are a whole other skill than a platformer. I`m looking to combine some of them. It is very important for me that it is pretty story-driven since the story and message will be about the road to the new platform.  Story being told maybe in a dramatic way with a cliffhanger in the end.  The details are not worked out yet, but the lines are decided.

The story however is leading for the genre on this scale in my opinion. Never heard of a rich-story driven platformer so platformer is on one of the lowest positions. Since I started writing and beginning this chapter it came to my mind that there are a few games which are kind of in line of which I wan't them to have it. Starbound, Secret of Mana from the SNES and of course the good-old Zelda a Link to the past. Starbound is more exploring and building, Zelda doesn't need any explaining I think. Secret of Mana is a youth-favorite of mine.

All those games have 1 thing in common and that is real-time battles and a story. I really love that. Off topic, I was also so flabbergasted by the new Final Fantasy 15 that I really don't dare to play it in fear of getting addicted! I really loved the series but this is something different!

I`m still in doubt between a action-driven adventure or an action-rpg. Played a bit around with RPGmaker for concepting but it forces you into a certain kind of style which I don't really like. The RPG mechanics are nice to have but will force me into turn-based RPG's, I really like the freedom so RPGmaker will be a no-go for me, also not unique enough.

Roadmap continuation

I will decide the Genre and story somewhere this week, then I can start building a roadmap. I`m also a bit "afraid" of releasing a roadmap since it also forces me into a strict planning and expectations to my followers. But hey, I need to start somewhere. I work 9 hours a day, travel to work and back also a small 4 hours. So time is limited on working days so efficiency is mandatory.

I will work with several roadmaps, per project based. Possibly I will change my mind in the "learning" phase and I will like to keep freedom per roadmap in my decisions.  Once a roadmap is released per project, that specific roadmap WILL be my planning and appointments with myself.

Steemians, many thanks for reading. As said before, the more support I can obtain, the faster results will be. I`m also curious if there are Steemians which have skills for game-making, art, sound etc. Maybe we can collaborate!  

Sort:  

Superb concept and it’s all about cryptogaming

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

yes learning is a big part of making a game. can't wait to see more!