Streaming, How I Do It

in #gaming5 years ago

I have only just started my journey down the road to be a full-time streamer. I love the process, though, and I would like to share my methods. I am by no means an expert, yet, but I know I can help you get started if you would like to stream too.

20190901_070310.jpg

Getting Started

I started by watching I don't know how many videos on YouTube and many Twitch streams. I was researching this to help my oldest daughter start streaming her Roblox games. I fell in love with the idea and, most importantly, the process. There is a lot of good material and advice to be had. My favorite YouTuber/Twitch streamer is Harris Heller. He is informative and inspiring and he gives great advice. Here is the link to his YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCATWC1JSlhzmYeDbjnS8WwA

There are other great channels like Think Media and Nick Nimmons, who concentrate more on YouTube, but, they have good advice on streaming too. The recurring theme is, GET STARTED, then figure out the details. I took that to heart, as you know, and got started. I am almost late for my weekly stream, so, I will be doing that in a while. I need to make a schedule, but, my co-workers aren't cooperating.

How To Start

This is assuming that you have a pc that can play games and stream at once. There are ways to use two pcs, but, I currently only have one and it seems to do fine. I have yet to stream to Twitch, though, my streams to YouTube look pretty good. Of course, it is great to have a camera and microphone, but, you can get started with your headset and your smartphone if you don't have the other equipment.

First, download OBS (Open Broadcaster Software) for free. https://obsproject.com/

I have moved to Stream Elements OBS, which is also free, but, they have a lot more to offer. There are free overlays there and help with setting up tipping and all sorts of other help for budding streamers such as myself. I am currently looking for a custom overlay (for pay) and someone to help me with my brand logo, maybe one of you could help. My Twitch ID is my brand name, fungamr. I am having a lot of fun with this process!

If you don't have a webcam, you can download the OBS/NDI extension on the pc and NDI Tech on your smartphone and, BOOM, you are a streamer! It really is pretty easy once you get rolling. Once you figure out your OBS settings, you can just open it and hit the Start Streaming button anytime you are ready to stream. There are hundreds of videos on how to set up OBS, but, my favorite one was from Coalition Gaming https://www.youtube.com/user/CoalitionGamesCrew.

My webcam was only $39 and my Blue Snowball mic was $50. I got the headset before I thought of streaming, but, I like it a lot, it is from Corsair and was $100.

My Setup

I have a pretty reasonable computer. I originally built it for $439 and it now has a former mining RX580 that I flashed back to gaming. It ran me $80, bringing my total price up to $519. This is only the box, peripherals are a matter of personal preference and price.

I have a Ryzen 5 2400G for a processor because I wanted to be able to game without the cost of a graphics card. It actually got in the 40s of fps in PUBG and over 70 in Fortnite! Pretty solid for an apu.

It is set into an ASROCK B450 Pro 4 motherboard because I wanted an upgrade path. I love the board, it stays cool and allows you to overclock a good deal. It has everything but wifi. What gamer wants wifi anyway? Oh yeah, mobile gamer.

I have 16GB of 3600mhz ram mounted as well, also by Corsair.

I have replaced the stock cooler with a Deep Cool Matrexx, which lets my chip get 3.93GHZ at its peak (tested on AIDA64 Extreme). It only gets up to 78C at max CPU and GPU usage! The stock cooler et the CPU get up to 92C before I shut the test down. Its peak was 3.75GHZ. It is a pretty hot chip because it has the CPU and GPU together, but, the extra cooling helps a lot.

For storage, I used the Intel 660 NVME/SSD mounted to one of two M.2 slots on the board. It is already asking for a second one. 512GB goes by fast when you are having fun.

All this lovely is packed into a cheap DIYPC case that I got off NewEgg for $50ish. I got this case because I liked that I could get a case with tempered glass and 4 fans for such a low price. (the case above is a Zondda O, also from DIYPC, it is a build that I am selling. Not a gaming computer, more of an internet browser, college dorm type of pc).

My webcam has a ring light around it and I have an additional 12 inch ring light that I got cheap from Amazon, so, lighting is covered. Good lighting is the best thing you can do for your stream or if you are making videos.

And that's it. I would love another monitor so I don't have to use my phone for chat and to check my stream, perhaps next week.

I will be back soon with a build video/stream/tutorial so if you haven't learned to build a pc, stay tuned. The case is supposed to be here Tuesday, so, most likely Wednesday will be the day for that. I will be streaming on Twitch for my first time at 8 PM MST. I think I am ready. Hope to see you there!

Bye!

Sort:  

Love the lights on the edge of the table. :-)

Thanks, I saw them on the clearance rack for $4 and I couldn't resist.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sounds like a great price.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 13 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 3 SBD worth and should receive 179 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig