Is it too many videogames out there? - the game industry then, now and the future

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

It's like the song; "It's raining men". But instead of men it's games.

Today we are surrounded and fed up with so many games that we don't even know in which end or beginning we should start picking from...

It's a massproduction and it seems like an unstoppable train. Compare the game-industry now to about 10-15 years ago. It's like night and day.

In an old post that I've made, I wrote that I grew up with Nintendo. I grew up having gaming by my side pretty much my whole childhood. If it wasn't my brother playing, it was me or both of us together.

But first it was homework from school then playtime.
My parents couldn't see the fun part in me and my brothers lifestyle. Lol.

SkypePhoto_20170814_162712.jpg

What makes us so dragged into gaming? Why some of us get so hooked and some of us doesn't? Is it something that our parents failed to give us during our childhood that the gaming compensate? Or is it just an active part of our brain that makes us want to play games so badly?

I've noticed that people who is creative are more likely to fall for gaming in one way or another.

That is just my personal thoughts, no facts behind that.

Creative people who play games see gaming as a puzzle, a piece of art that they need to match all the parts together to get a result.
And of course...everyone loves rewards for doing something good. Who doesn't?
All that combined with beautiful visual stimulation our brain is high on endorfines. Almost feels like you are in love. You just want more and you can't get enough.

And the gameindustry knows that and they gladly earn money on our poor sensitive souls.

They know that we feel totally euphoric while playing, like an alcoholic feels towards alcohol.
And with todays technology everything just goes faster and faster. The industry can give us more detailed games and in a much faster phase.

But for me, amongst alot of other gamers out there, it can sometimes feel a bit TOO overwhelming with the industry popping out games like popcorn.
Excpecially the online game-industry.

After Everquest and World of Warcraft, other companies have tried to make their own online-games that would attract people. They wanted a piece of the massive cake aswell, that the two kings of mmo's created.

For me personally. I felt that after WoW, the gaming industry went totally crazy. And it's just escalating.

Back then I could focus on WoW and only WoW. There was no other games that tried to attract me compared to nowdays.

Now it's insane...I'm pendling between WoW, Elder Scrolls Online, FFXIV and GW2.
And recently I also discovered Black Desert... All of those games are fun....a bit too fun. So fun that it feels hard to choose which one to concentrate on.

You basically need to force yourself to focus and not get too distracted by the other games who is trying their hardest to catch you...and attract you..

What is happening with the gaming industry?
How will the future look like?
How will the companies continue to stimulate our poor souls and will the production escalate even more due to more and more competition on the market?

Leave your thoughts in the section below :-)

/Caroline

Image source: https://pixabay.com/en/xbox-game-handle-entertainment-283116/

Sort:  

you are right gaming is addictive, it also distracts you from real life. In the future there might come a time when gamers will be unable see the difference between the games and reality.
Maybe it's time to unpluck?

I saw the title and at first thought this would be a negative perspective on gaming, but it was a pleasant surprise to see it wasn't negative on gaming, only the amount of games. I understand what you mean, especially when people are talking about games and you thought you could rambling about anything when it comes to gaming with people and realized you don't know the game. 😄 There's so many now! But at the moment I absolutely love Elder Scrolls (Skyrim) and before was a CS GO girl. I've stopped playing so much games, but I go through phases. I also grew up on Nintendo though. Especially the DS! Super Mario was my game lol! This is before I discovered Counter Strike and Skyrim. 😄