Upgrade to Ryzen threadripper 1900x or Intel Core i7-7820X

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

Ever since AMD released the new Ryzen processors I have been wondering and planning to get a 8 core processor and now intel has launched the competitive processor 7820x. I have always used Intel processor so far and didn't face any problems at all. Not sure about AMD. 

I am now confused between Ryzen 1900x threadripper vs Core I7 7820x (both have same cores/thread count). I mainly work as web developer and play games alongside in my free time. Looking for a build that should last for atleast another 2 to 3 years.

I normally do multitasking and have multiple browsers/apps open on my windows PC and I run games with all those apps open whenever I get free time.

I currently have Intel Core I5 6600 4 cores processor which runs fine accept while playing Ghost recon wildlands when it starts hanging.


Hoping to get some community advice on this as I am eager to buy a good 8 core processor and the build should cost me around $1000 including motherboard and processor. Should I wait till some price drop occurs?