You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Most under-rated systems I actually owned: Sega Dreamcast

in #gaming3 years ago

I traded in my N64 and all my games to buy the dreamcast! I thought it was going to be the next best thing. What sold me was the controller cause i loved he mini screen where i can raise my chao on sonic and i can do other mini games from certain games. I owned both sonics, both the crazy taxis, both ready to rumbles and that zombie game House of the Dead where you use a lightgun not the typing version. I even had that one exclusive puzzle game called Sega Swirl which came on the internet launcher disk. Was hoping to see some more great titles but like you said the one thing that was different from the PS2 was not having a DVD or in other words have more data per disk. I was betting most companies were thinking of sega at 1st but realized certain games may require 2 or more disks therefore more costly for production and it was cheaper to put on a DVD format. Some people claimed they hacked the dreamcast to play DVD's but that is impossible due to the type of hardware actually installed unless they changed the actual drive to a DVD reading hardware. Either way I had a feeling it was going to fail but I am still glad to be one of those to actually enjoy the system.

Most games now have been ported over to PC or you can Emulate them. I have both sonics on steam and have crazy taxi on the xbox but it's a remastered version. I was able to emulate the boxing games and the puzzle game was freeware and you can still download it from the Website. That zombie game I think you can emulate but never tried. Sadly there wasn't a PC port of either versions but a remake of the typing version of the game you can buy on Steam

Sort:  

I quite enjoyed having a Dreamcast but then again, like I mentioned, I was really late to the party and they were basically giving the things away at that point. It was kind of fun to go into Game Stop with $20 and know that I was going to walk out of there with at least 2 games. I can't really even recall most of the games that I liked on it nor do I have any idea where my console ended up. It was fun while it lasted and Sega did a pretty good job with this one.

I think that Sega bought their own ticket to obscurity when they prolonged the life of the Genesis by creating more and more add ons that didn't really do much for the console, were expensive, and had very little in the way of 3rd party support. Then of course the disastrous launch of the Saturn was kind of the first nail in the coffin.

Thanks for the links, I'll be checking those out this afternoon!