A Space Engineer Story: Stranded - Day 3

in #gaming6 years ago

This is bad. Really really bad.

I made it to the friendly ID signal and what I hoped to be some kind of way to get rescued turned out to be just a supply drop. Normally this should be a good sign. But the supply drop did not contain any message or way to communicate with the sender.

The container looks more like a military drop - one that is rather used in battle conditions.
In war times much needed supplies would be sent directly to friendly units using an encrypted, weak ID signal. They don't contain any information that could be useful to the enemy in case the delivery is intercepted.

I know that this sector is often a hiding place for pirates, but these "rebels" (that is what they call themselves) would normally attack small trading ships, most often to collect ransom or just loot the cargo. I can't imagine the command ship being attacked by anyone in this remote corner of space.

Maybe this is just part of the exercise after all. In any case, this means I am on my own. Someone knows I am here but they are not able to make contact.

I need to stay focused.

The supply drop contained some valuable building materials: steel plates, interior plates and computer boards. It even had some uranium left in its built-in reactor. I could dismantle the parts and got some useful reactor parts as well - I can really need those for constructing a small exploration vessel.

On the way back to the lander I stumbled upon a small pocket of iron ore. Although it would take ages to extract the complete deposit and carry the ore on foot, I took as much as I could and stored it in the ship refinery.

Together with some parts from the lander (mostly the now useless and partly disassembled thrusters) I managed to finalise most of the new landing platform. The solar panels are already collecting energy and I can now start building a new ship for exploring the surroundings!

I need to stay focused!


I'm a computer gamer.
I like sandbox games.

Sandbox games often don't have much of a storyline. But you can always invent your own.
This is the story of an engineer and his journey.
This is my story of playing Space Engineers.
It is a diary and it is a game walkthrough. But most of all it is meant to be fun.
I hope you will like it.


Previous journal entries:
Day 1 - Day 2

Sort:  

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Congratulations @spacefarer! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received
You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!