That one time I built a PC in a toaster

in #gaming7 years ago
  • THIS IS TOASTY

A long time ago I made a post on imgur, which I later shared via Reddit about my lovely little toaster PC pet project. Some of the people there have requested a show of how the toaster was built and while I didn't take many pictures, there should still be sufficient to make a very poor show. Let's get started! This is the end result.

8ysVgfl - Imgur.jpg

  • Inception

This was my starting point. On the right we have a Aopen DE7000 PC. These things are usually used as media players for displays within fast foods and all sorts of other digital advertisements. I got this one off e-bay for £60 which was insanely good value for a PC this small. The specs are as follows:

CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo Mobile T7300 - 2.0GHz, 800Mhz, 4MB
GPU: GeForce 9300 graphic engine with PureVideo HD hardware decoder for H.264, VC-1, WMV-HD, MEPG-HD contents with low CPU loading.
RAM: 2GB DDR3 - 1600MHz Notebook Memory
STORAGE: 500GB SATAII 5400RPM HDD

On the left there's a toaster. An ARGOS Simple Value 2 slice toaster to be more exact. It cost £5 new and the second I took it out of its box the timer knob fell off. Good value toaster right there!

cEnMcqp - Imgur.jpg

  • Under da' hood

Opening up the case on the DE7000 we can see it's pretty well made and compact, with two cables running to the lid of the case (power button and front USB ports)

TmbQZO5 - Imgur.jpg

I'm not very interested in the USB ports as I'll use a little retractable USB hub to get IO access however, I do need to turn the bloody thing on so I removed the power button board from the case lid. Now I forgot to take pictures of this but this little board fitted almost perfectly on the eject button slot on the toaster, so I was able to use that button as the power button.

TbScJWl - Imgur.jpg

Taking the toaster apart we can see that there is a lot of junk that's not necessary for the build, so most of it was scrap. In all fairness it all probably started out as scrap anyway considering the built quality of this particular toaster. I wouldn't trust the safety of my kitchen with this thing.

khant28 - Imgur.jpg

The PC was a little bigger than the breadcrumb tray on the toaster's base, and it was also too tall to simply fit inside its new case so it was time to become creative with knives.

T1gX9xO - Imgur.jpg

One cheap knife later and I was able to cut a hole big enough to fit the PC in snugly. It was at this point that I saw the chicken nuggets and my fatass sense started tingling. Thus instead of taking pictures I was stuffing my face with nuggets and by the time I stopped the toaster was already built.

oJQ2KGc - Imgur.jpg

After fitting the PC there was a lot of room left, and as we all know toasters don't have power bricks, thus I took the liberty of putting that in the case as well. Even with the power brick in there, there's still plenty of room for air circulation and for it to wiggle around if I'm not careful.

fgVTXMz - Imgur.jpg

In lack of any other solution, I decided that the best way to cover up the base of the toaster and seal off the breadcrumb tray is to tape the living hell out of it. This actually worked out pretty well since I took great care in making sure the tape is fully stretched out. It also leaves for easy access if I ever need to take out the components.

uOBrGRt - Imgur.jpg

I had this little USB hub lying around and as I didn't want to cut another hole in the toaster for the back IO ports, i decide that this would be the next best thing for connectivity. When not in use it can be fitted easily back into the toaster case

aAlCuUf - Imgur.jpg

Finally the power and display cables. They both go straight back into the toaster. For some reason the Aopen shipped with a European plug but it wasn't much of a problem.

xKwu4AI - Imgur.jpg

Pretty neat right?

Now the reason I built it is because I wanted to show that my game, Void 21, can run on pretty much anything, including a toaster. Yes it won't look particularly awesome but then again it's a sacrifice worth making for those who can't afford a better PC but still would like to play my game. In my youth I couldn't run most of the games out there either due to sub-par hardware and I suffered greatly for it so If I can help someone else now, by god I will!

Sort:  

With this I can now officially say I'm playing on a god damn toaster

Indeed. I should set it up next to my actual pc and send it to people when they scream at me for poor internet connection

Well Done!! If you perfected thoes you could sell them its such a cool idea, I know I would pay..haha

A whole new approach to recycling! Actually it is a great idea!

There are so many defunct electronics around and creative reuse like this has potential!

Perfect for small applications like a home control box, or automating other functions like email...

Congratulations @taranasus! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Wow - I do not know a lot about computers, less jargon...but this is very cool

I love looking at unique case mods and this one tops the list of the more bizarre.

For some reason I keep thinking of Battlestar Galactica and the fact that the Cylons were called "Toasters." I'm worried that you may have planted the seeds for the robot uprising...

Well, take comfort in the fact that if I have, it will kill me first

Easy as toast