Old School Games I Wished Had Online Multiplayer

in #gaming6 years ago

Almost every game now-a-days has some kind of online option. A lot of games are actually built with multiplayer in mind first and the story added after if at all. But old school games where story first. And if you were lucky there was a two player mode with a friend that would involve them actually coming over. But now we don't even need to wear pants to play with out friends :p Here are some games I wish has multiplayer back in the day.

Chrono Trigger

This is one of my favorite games of all time. If you like RPGs you need to play this game. If you like retro games you need to play this. If you are breathing... you get the point. It is an old school RPG with your inventory and turn-based battles but the character and world design are some of the best. How cool would it be if this could have been online. And I am not talking about a 3D MMO version but a game that looked and played like this one but with MMO elements. New raids could've opened up every week. It would have been awesome.

Goldeneye

Some have this as the best shooter ever. I have to admit it did not age so well and the controls of modern shooters are pretty incredible. That being said this game was fun, very fun. Who didn't play this split screen with their friends? It was one of the biggest multiplayer games in the day where we ran around the facility and threw proximity mines on the armor as we picked it up. If this was online the fun would never stop.

james-bond-2026107_640.png

Mario Party

Any of them. Mario Party is blast. Yes I cannot take away from the fact that this is mainly a party game and should be played with friends in person. But the option the play online would've been nice. There is something about board games being played in video games form. As this game is still making sequels maybe I will get my wish on the Switch

What game do you want to add to the list?

Sort:  

Just a few off the top of my head:

  • Contra
  • Any N64 wrestling game
  • Mario Kart 64
  • Smash Bros. and Smash Bros Melee
  • Beat em ups like Final Fight, Double Dragon, Streets of Rage
  • Street Fighter II/Mortal Kombat
  • NBA Jam
  • I'm gonna stop myself here

lol please go on. I actually was going to add Streets of Rage when I was writing this... and NBA Jam. Great minds.

You can play almost any game online whit a friend using Hamachi

  • Bomberman
  • Pokemon Snap
  • Mario Tennis
  • Star Wars: Rogue Squadron
  • Diddy Kong Racing
  • Banjo-Kazooie
  • Pokemon Stadium
  • Donkey Kong 64
    But The Best for me are Star Fox 64 and Golden Eye 007

Oooooo Star Fox, you get an upvote for that.

I see Pokemon 3DS games as a better version of Pokemon Stadium (and they have Online Multiplayer,) though I only played that one on emulator and maybe that's why I think so.

Wish Spyro had online

My dream would come true

It seems they're going to recreate the trilogy in PS4 graphics this year... Part of me is so excited becaue PS1 games where the best Spyro games

Sir @whatageek
Online Multiplayer This is one of my favorite games of all time
I like RPGs

again good games :)
maybee add river raid...
thanks....

Duke Nukem 3D was also a good one.

For sure.

Contra
Uno de mis favoritos

I loved those games, the truth sometimes I considered myself addicted hahaha, thank God I controlled myself

I think I haven't played any of them. Yeah I'm still too young :)

its great job of 3d Duke Nukem

Hey, I used you as an example in my blog. Nice use of Header content for your branding! https://steemit.com/steemit-help/@stevecronin/7-days-to-a-better-steemit-blog-day-3-using-the-steemit-settings-to-your-advantage

Feel free to use my links :)

You got a 20.13% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @whatageek!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

yes it is game with good graphics and it is a time killer...stay tuned dear

I don't want a multiplayer version of CHRONO TRIGGER (not even another multiplayer game set in the same world/storyline) but a game that looks and plays similar to it? Yup!! sure that would be amazing~

Other than that I agree with @retro-room list, especially any fighting game (there must be a way to play them online with emulators now right?)

Someone mentioned Bomberman... I'm surprised no one made a an online multiplayer game of it yet.

Super Smash Bros Melee I'm tired of inviting people to play it.

I definitely fully agree with Goldeneye 007 and Mario Party [2 in particular :)]!

A few other games I would add:
Super NES
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles IV: Turtles in Time
Uniracers
Baseball Simulator 1.000
Goof Troop
Tiny Toon Adventures: Wacky Sports Challenge

N64
Perfect Dark
Mario Kart 64
Donkey Kong 64
Diddy Kong Racing

I am sure there are more but these are all I could brainstorm right now!