What Is the Hardest Old School Game You Ever Beat?

in #gaming6 years ago

Geek time. Well it is always geek time on my page. What is the hardest game you ever beat? Was it on the Nintendo a system that had a lot of challenging titles or maybe a PC game you spent weeks on? Was it the original Mario game (which is harder than people think) or something more difficult? I want to know what game was the hardest you beat?

For me it was Battletoads for the NES. This game is notorious for being one of the hardest games ever made. If you have played it you probably made it to the third level, the one of the flying car you had to move up and down to avoid obstacles and threw your controller a few times. And it only got harder. The coolest and most impressive thing about Battletoads is every level is different yet robust enough not to feel like a collection of mini games. These lead to a challenging experience where it took time to master each one.

I beat this late at night. I remember watching the Dark Queen turn upside and bang her head on the stage. I don't remember how many times I had to replay it to get there but it was more than I probably want to admit :p. On a side note it was cool to see yourself progress and to feel a level easy that used to be such a problem.

How about you?

video-game-console-2202580_1280.jpg

Sort:  

Since I'm 20yo, my first gaming console was PlayStation 1.

Hardest game I played (actually a mission) was GTA San Andreas on PS2.

It was a mission where you had to play a toy helicopter.

That was around mission number 45 in the 2nd city.

I never managed to get to the 3rd city.

SNES - Killer Instinct on hardest difficulty when trying to unlock Eyedol.
The amount of times you would have to keep trying and trying, but then the satisfaction when you get to play him.

That game was a pain in the ass, congrats on the victory.

It's one of my favourite retro games, cheers, it was a fair effort. Battletoads was pretty fun to play.

Mario64 comes to mind. I go it all of the Stars, no easy feet in the time before internet. I'm sure I've played harder, but it would take some time to really consider what games gave me grief.

"Return to the castle" i was so scared of this game as you don't know which way the ghosts come and bust you, it was breath taking...

jAj4IMccrY8HdVyo6WgwtDY1K6BrHC9yU_RYX53-tfJX1oI5wXbQBqn7JJzoqCnfks0uDYeK87Pfl9L34R0aPscTk7pg5LcRcONSzr_LvFNXQnCYBfcyhFMgEnPnXcLyxST1Mm_Cu5P9gNvdra0kiFPKEYCbQEPgc7Lmz-2GUGU20rXYem58vFcid7Y=w323-h456-nc.jpg

"Resident Evil" another scary game

My first game was the brick game them. I later moved to playing Tekken 3 with my favorite man being Hyorang.
I played this game all through my secondary school days . Along the line, Sega Mega Drive.

I played soccer so much that in my dreams, I could recite the commentaries especially keeper fumble
The toughest for me was soccer. I never won a game there and till date, I have no won anyone. I don't know how people do it and win.

The Mario game, talking about this unvieled some memories about this game. I remember my early times of playing this particular game and how it took me so many trials to finish world 1-1, to see the flag for the first time , I remember how many trials to beat the boss at world 1-4 . It was really interesting
D4B5D96F-5817-496F-953D-8DE7A7E50653.jpeg

"Altered Beast" Sega Genesis. I could never get past the 4th level

. Screenshot_20180422-181254_Chrome.jpg

The toughest game for me was God of War 3 on my Play Station console.
I found it really difficult to break through some Greek Gods and then finally the Titan, but I did eventually after series of trials. This was years ago

Super Ghouls 'n Ghosts. That game is hell. But it's glorious too. Battle toads was a hard one too though. Snes were my golden years for video games. I got to play a lot, and I spent lots of time on each game.

Now I often find myself moving onto a new game even before I complete ones I am currently playing. There are so many coming out all the time.

Formula one grandpix game. I beat Schumacher at advanced level.

Haven't finished GTA: Vice City, but the hardest one yet was in that game. The one where you control the little helicopter to drop off some bombs at some locations. That was tooo harddd! Took me forever to complete

Old school: Probably Goldeneye (64). This game put me through hell.

New school: Dark Souls III - the Twin Princes is a really rewarding boss fight, kick ass end to the game.

Never played Battletoads. Sounds like a load of fun x)

The hardest game i faced was the SIMPSON VS MUTANT SPACE; at that age i was a kid and the game was very difficult puzzles and almost imposible bosses. NES

Mega Man NES

the hardest oldschool game i can remember beating must be ape escape on the original play station. that shit was hard for 8 year old me.

1989 Prince of god gamn Persia, I tried so many times as a kid but I could never be fast enough to beat it in 60 seconds. It's a bit embarrassing but it did not achieve it until I became an adult ;)

Relic run..To find complete clues aint easy

I don't know if they were the hardest games I ever played, but the Ultima series took forever to complete...

Hardest? Uhmmm... Back then it was Bomberman. 😂 I did get to finish it this year (or late last yr?), on a computer when I decided to finally play it til the end.

And then there was that Japanese roleplaying game that had a dragon at the opening sequence I don't even know what's going on but you had to go to various places and there was this magic falls where you can get to the other side by standing beside it too. I tried the game but I don't really know what the ending is.

I don't think my brothers ever got to finish it, mainly because heck it's in Japanese! Was a Famicom game. 😁

Am not familiar with Battletoads though... But I got to finish Contra with the 30 lives! Haha.

Ugh, Decap Attack. I just can't go beyond stage 4, it's too hard! 😤

Being a hardcore fan of the Kunio Kun series I beated them all. You know the small ,though guys playing sports with special powerS